Day 4 & 5 and Five Days of Photos


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Lake Constance
July 25th 2008
Published: July 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

The first week.

Bratislava to Wahlwies

BratislavaBratislavaBratislava

A rather Slovakian-looking building.
Hello again!

I'm now in at my friend's in Wahlwies (near Stockach, next to Lake Constance), after a five hour journey through the Bavarian countryside from Munich.

Day 4: Munich (München)


After a bit of a lie in in Salzburg, I got the lunchtime train to Munich. The countryside there is mainly just fields, but still looks really lovely. Arriving in Munich shortly after 1pm, I dumped my pack in the hotel foyer and headed for the city centre. I found the underground streets rather fascinating, as this "shopping street" runs from the main station to the next station down, and you don't have to worry about traffic.

After a look around the central Marienplatz, I headed north to the Hofbräuhaus and the Hofgarten. This was all very nice, but there were a few too many tourists around to enjoy the scenery.

After returning to the hotel to check in properly, I had a little look around the south of the centre, and then decided to get a McDonald's and eat it beside the fountain.

This was all I really saw of Munich, as I decided to get an earlier night.

Day 5: Munich to

The River DanubeThe River DanubeThe River Danube

Miles from the sea and this river is still this big!
Wahlwies
I got up this morning fairly late, to enjoy another continental breakfast. At 12.20ish, I hopped on the train to Lindau. The scenery in south-western Bavaria, and especially the Allgäu, is really quite stunning, and the foothills of the Bavarian alps near Immenstadt are a sight to see.

A bit more forest, and I arrived in Lindau, connecting to Friedrichshafen and then Radolfzell, where I was met by our friend Gilly.

Back to Gilly and Joachim's for a meal, a phone call home, and then with time to upload these photos of the last five days.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

The "WTF" TowerThe "WTF" Tower
The "WTF" Tower

A tower with the letters WTF at the top - I don't think it has the same meaning in Slovak!
Central ViennaCentral Vienna
Central Vienna

St. Stephen's Church in the centre of Vienna.
A Choice of TransportA Choice of Transport
A Choice of Transport

These decorated horses, as you can see, appear to have golden ears...
The Danube in ViennaThe Danube in Vienna
The Danube in Vienna

View looking south east from Handelskai Bahnhof
Belverdere PalaceBelverdere Palace
Belverdere Palace

Really quite spectacular, and I found it accidentally.
River WienRiver Wien
River Wien

A small trickle of a river at this time of year.
Vienna Youth HostelVienna Youth Hostel
Vienna Youth Hostel

Me - proud that I made my own bed.
SalzburgSalzburg
Salzburg

The castle in Salzburg, as viewed from the Monstery the other side of the river, backed by the wonderful clouds!
CowCow
Cow

Cows... Elephants... it's all the same!
Gnome?Gnome?
Gnome?

A chap I met in Salzburg...
River in SalzburgRiver in Salzburg
River in Salzburg

Lovely view looking towards the alps.
Chess in the RainChess in the Rain
Chess in the Rain

Chess in the old square in Salzburg (white won).
AlpsAlps
Alps

A view of the cloudy Austrian Alps from in front of Salzburg castle.
Salzburg Youth HostelSalzburg Youth Hostel
Salzburg Youth Hostel

Outside of the Youth Hostel in Salzburg.
Munich HofbäuhausMunich Hofbäuhaus
Munich Hofbäuhaus

Packed with tourists.
MarienplatzMarienplatz
Marienplatz

Large building in central Munich.
Near ImmenstadtNear Immenstadt
Near Immenstadt

Bavarian countryside.


26th July 2008

Greetings
Just been looking over your blog, I hope you'e having a good time. The pictures look fantastic, makes me want to go to Germany more than ever. I look forward to more updates, lots of love, Jenni. p.s well done for making your own bed :P xx

Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1183s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb