Following the Holiday Strada to Frankfurt


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Heidelberg
August 2nd 2009
Published: August 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

I woke up early, logged on and checked the seat counts; so far, things are looking pretty good. I cleaned up and headed down stairs, then checked my e-mail. Of all the messages I received, I enjoyed hearing from Kirsten the most. She and everyone were winding down their trip at the beach house at Anna Maria Island and were ready for me to come home. I think she’s missing me. I’m definitely missing her.
Lori came down and said, “Hey pops, let me buy you breakfast.” That’s a tough offer to refuse; moments later, we’re sitting inside the McDonald’s next door, enjoying our Egg McMuffins. They tasted great, just like the ones I shared with momma in Radcliff.
After breakfast, we walked over to the Bahnhof and found the information office, where we asked the gentleman behind the counter for maps that would lead us up a scenic route to Frankfurt. He was very helpful and set us up with the Holiday Strassa, a route which follows the Rhine River, conveniently marked with the locations of all the castles, churches and monasteries along the way. We were excited; first, we wanted to see the castle in Heidelberg. The man frowned and said that might be difficult, as the city was having a road race and finding parking would be difficult. We were determined, though, and off we went. Nearing downtown Heidelberg, we managed to find a garage. Lori parked the car and we were off to see the castle. We could see the castle from where we were, but getting there was going to be a hike. Along the way, it started to rain lightly, which can really put a damper on anything. Defeated we hurried back to the garage; and thus began our adventure of trying to leave Heidelberg. When we entered the garage instead of getting a ticket like most garages in Germany, we received a token. Naturally, you have to take the token to the money machine, which we did. As I drop the token in, the machine tells me that I owe 1 Euro. No problem, I insert the 1 euro and I receive another token. “So far, so good,” I’m thinking. I get in the car and Lori pulls forward to put the token into the exit gate. The gate doesn’t move and Lori shoots a disapproving look my way. I respond “WHAT!? I paid the machine, so the gate should open. Of course there is a crowd starting to form. I get out and walk around to the machine. While I’m looking at it, I walk over to the gate and put my hand on the arm to help it open, it falls off into my hand. At this point, one could hear the silence in the garage; then instantly, every man, woman and child gasped. I look at Lori - her look is one of mortification and amusement, and she is screaming for me get in the car. Panicking, I dropped the gate and bolted back to the car, barely making it in as Lori hits the gas pedal, leaving our dumbfounded audience in a fume of burning rubber, all the while Lori is laughing hysterically. Neither of us looked back or slowed down until we were 10 kilometers north of Heidelberg.
En route from Heidelberg, I dug through the stack of pamphlets we received earlier and found the map of the Holiday Strasse. The route takes you from Heidelberg to Darmstadt and has numerous small towns, castles, cathedrals and monasteries. The first castle we visited was located in Weinheim; this castle, which was in ruin, is named Windeck. As Lori drove up the side of the mountain she quickly said “I’m not stopping until we get to the castle this time.” And that’s precisely what she did - “All the better for me,” I thought. “It sure beats walking in the rain.” We parked, walked around Windeck, took photos, and then headed to the next castle, Wachenburg. Unlike Windeck, Castle Wachenburg was fully intact and even had a small restaurant in the court yard. We walked around took a few pictures before continuing on the strasse. Our next stop was Heppenheim, there was a fest, Woo Hoo!! We parked and walked around the fest. The rain had stopped, the fest was nice and the town folks were coming out. In the town center we found a beautiful cathedral named St. Peter. We walked through, mass had just let out and everyone was milling around and talking with the priest. We talked about eating lunch but we were both still full from breakfast, so we decided to find the monastery located at Lorsch. This monastery was built around 800 BC. We parked and walked around and took in the simplistic beauty. From Lorsch we jumped back on to the strasse and were heading north. I was reading the map looking for our adventure when Lori locks up the breaks and does a 180 degree turn in the middle of the road. Apparently, there was a beer garden back there. Is this my daughter or WHAT! Lori lands the car into the parking lot without a scratch and we’re out and heading to the beer garden. The aroma from the restaurant is probably enough but I’m thinking Wiener schnitzel. Wait, is Kirsten reading this? Right, I had the salad and Lori had the Wiener schnitzel.
After a nice long lunch, Lori and I talking and reminiscing the past weeks, months and years (another bonding moment). We piled back into the car, Lori said “Let’s get on the Auto Strassa and make up some time.” It was now 3 PM and we didn’t want to get to the hotel too late, so we left.
I get out my paper on the Holiday Inn and then my map and determine we wanted to get off exit number 5. This is the same Holiday Inn that Kirsten and I stayed in for a couple days when we vacationed years earlier. Well it looks exactly like it was when Kirsten and I were here 3 years ago. Lori pulls in and I jump out and go in, I ask the lady behind the counter, are there any rooms at the Inn? and she politely says yes. “Oh good,” I say, and I take it. About that time another family walks in and asks for lodging. The polite lady says NO! Looks like we lucked out and got the last room. My hand is now shaking as I’m writing my name on the form. Once I get the key I head outside and Lori says did you get a room, I said yes, she says the last folks that came out didn’t look to happy. No kidding, I just got the last room. Way to go Pops.
I told Lori to head around back to park, she responds what’s wrong with that parking lot, I said five Euros, that’s what wrong with that parking lot. Oh, as she pulls the car behind the building.
We get into the room and I immediately lay down for a nap. I’m exhausted; Lori takes off to explore the area and jumps on the internet. I wake up in about hour as Lori is coming through the door. You know dad there’s a restaurant across the street, and they say it’s pretty good. Yeah, I know that’s where were eating tonight. Lori and I walk across the street and to the restaurant, it’s not raining and everyone is sitting outside under the trees having dinner. We walk in and get us a table in the rear of the garden, the weather is perfect not raining and bit cool. We ordered dinner and sat there talking about how much fun we had over the last few days.
The conversation then turned south, how do the flights look dad? Well, I was going to tell after our beers came but I guess I can tell you now. What! We’re going to get on aren’t we? Well, it looked good this morning in Heidelberg, but when I checked earlier 50 people are now on the list. But we’re number 38. WHAT! Yeah, I should have waited until the beer came. Now Lori I told you this might happen, WHAT!

Ok, let’s blame it on Linda, Bea, it’s all their fault, WHAT! Ok, if a seat comes available you’ll get it before me, and you’ll probably get on, might not be Business Class but you’ll probably get on, as I roll my eyes for telling a white lie. Ok, dad so you think I might get on, Oh YEAH, in my best estimate you’re in, I might not make it but I’m sure you’ll get on. Lori says, look me in the eye and say that, I look down at my beer and mumble, oh look at the time. Yawn, I’m getting real tired; Lori’s watching me like hawk.
We settled in and got ready for a long day of trying to get home.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0234s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb