Going with the Flow


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Freiburg
September 2nd 2008
Published: September 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

My roomMy roomMy room

My room before I moved the furniture around.
Guten Tag von Freiburg!

So I managed to wrestle my 100lbs of luggage through the Frankfurt airport, onto a train, into a cab and then up the three flights of stairs to my room. For those of you who have saw me the last few days before I left it was quite and adventure getting those suitcases underweight, but mom and I managed. Needless to say, my arms are very sore.

Freiburg is absolutely beautiful and the students on my program are all really nice, at least right now. I have met two of my roommates, both of which are female. It took me about 2 minutes to figure out where the button to flush the toilet was, which naturally made me feel like an idiot. I have the most beautiful room though. There is no air conditioning so it is pretty hot during the day in my room, but at night it is really nice and cool. One really funny thing I noticed is the shower is very small, just enough space to stand in and wash. You also don't really have to step in the shower because the shower floor is only like a half inch deep from the regular bathroom floor.

There is so much to look at around here it is amazing. Sometimes in places it looks like the midwest, but not really. Everything is also substantial smaller than in the states. I never realized how big everything was in the US! For example, the streets are much thinner, therefore the cars are smaller. The buildings are much closer together and the shops much smaller on the inside. Most of the streets are cobblestone streets as well, which I can imagine is a bitch in heels.

I had my very first German beer and I must say it was delicious. The taste is much stronger then the beer in the US, but it goes down smoother and also I have found doesn't make you burp as much. It is so cool that when I walk down the street everyone around me is speaking German and the little kids run by screaming German back to their parents. While I was in school in the states I was always scared to speak German, but I have found, surprisingly that I am not afraid to speak German here. Maybe it is because everyone else is doing it...



Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb