Black Forest: Triberg & Gengenbach


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Black Forest
October 8th 2008
Published: December 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have train narcolepsy. Mysteriously, I have always managed to wake up right before my destinations.
When I opened my sleepy eyes today, I have arrived the capital of cuckoo clock, Triberg.

Triberg is also the capital of tourism in Black Forest region. We were fortunate enough to escape bus loads of people. (The advantages of traveling during off peak season.) The waterfall was beautiful but not spectacular. Most visitors returned to the town after seeing the waterfall. But, we just kept walking and walking into the forest until we had the entire trail to ourselves. The walk was quite relaxing and refreshing. When you really think about it, there are places on this planet you are lucky enough to visit once. There are places you will never get to see in this lifetime. I may not have another opportunity to return to Black Forest, how can I not cherish this moment?

On the way back to Baden-Baden, we stopped by Gengenbach. The old town of Gengenbach is charming. I loved its half-timbered houses and narrow alleys. We found a cafe right in the heart of old town. A cup of espresso, a tasty piece of black forest cake..... we picked an outdoor table and simply enjoyed this sunny afternoon in a fairytale town.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



Tot: 0.295s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 69; dbt: 0.0704s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb