Birthday dinner


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
September 27th 2009
Published: September 17th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 43.9486, 4.80597

Mike, I couldn't leave you hanging for even one meal. After Lucy had time to settle, we walked down the street to a place called L'Hedoniste (41 rue Carnot). They specialize in seafood. You can have several different sea creatures prepared in a delectable variety of ways. Lucy had shrimp who were served dancing on a stage of rice. I had moules frit, which is mussels served with fries on the side. My mussels came steaming in a pot with sweet onions and a thin basil-cream sauce. I might have liked it a tad less salty, but I got past that minor shortcoming by introducing bits of baguette to the mix. For dessert I had a chilled ganache that was sprinkled with pecans and rolled in a tortilla, sliced into medallions and served with creme anglaise and whipped cream. Lucy had some profiteroles. Both were chocolate heaven.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

My dessertMy dessert
My dessert

iPhone picture is a little blurry. Not sure I would have used a tortilla, but the ganache was Josh-worthy
Lucy's profiterolesLucy's profiteroles
Lucy's profiteroles

also a blurry iPhone picture. Not the best for shooting in dim places.


Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb