Nice is Nice 21km


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
June 29th 2017
Published: June 29th 2017
Edit Blog Post

IMG_7997IMG_7997IMG_7997

Just chillin' watching the world go by
After staying up late following a fine meal (at the end of which I finallygot a chance to have creme brule for dessert) I luxuriated in sleeping in until almost 8:00 before saddling up one more time. The first order of business was determining how long it would take to get to the airport tomorrow (all of 15 minutes), after which I languidly toodled along the seaside bike path, which was already teeming with tourists, taking in the several shades of gorgeous that the Mediterranean presents here. I had toyed with the notion of riding to Monaco, but when the path ended and I was deposited into traffic again, I quickly scratched that idea.

It was extremely windy and the bike section of the pathway (there is a separate pedestrian section, although some folks never seem to grasp the distinction) was closed for construction in places, making this the scariest part of the trip as people on rentabikes wobbled in the wind amid those on foot who ambled mindlessly. After sitting on a bench and watching the parade for a while, there was just too much humanity to bear so I retreated to the sanctuary of our hotel which, despite
IMG_8003IMG_8003IMG_8003

Res ipsa loquitur
it's location in the city, is situated at the end of a cul-de-sac on a hill and is surrounded by greenery so it is very tranquil.

Unfortunately, at one point the wind blew my camera off the perch I had set it on in order to take a self-portrait, and that has rendered it even less functional than before. Nonplussed (I had already determined that my camera's usable life was already over before this untimely incident), I proceeded to pick up some necessities for tomorrow's travels, had a nap to help prepare for a return to Eastern Time (I will need to stay awake so as not to miss the small window of opportunity I will have to get some groceries on my return before everything shuts down for Canada Day) and then headed off to find some place to eat. I ended up exploring a very non-touristy neighbourhood and enjoying a simple meal where the locals eat but couldn't find a local place to get ice cream, however, so it was back to the hotel for a final tasting before typing this.

And now to sleep...


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

IMG_8004IMG_8004
IMG_8004

A street with no traffic!
IMG_8007IMG_8007
IMG_8007

There's lots of this (both foreground and background) going on
IMG_8008IMG_8008
IMG_8008

I moved to get further in frame and that's when the camera tumbled and died


Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0564s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb