Chartres Cathedral


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
June 2nd 2015
Published: June 2nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

I left the Loire River area this morning and drove to Chartres to see the famous cathedral here. I have seen it twice before - about 20 years ago and about 40 years ago, so it was time to see it again! It is famous for its statues and stained glass, both of which have survived for the past 900 years despite many episodes of religious upheaval that have ruined many other churches. I took a photo of myself in front of the cathedral (see picture) and then went inside where I joined a tour given by Malcolm Miller. He has been doing tours of Chartres Cathedral for over 50 years (I was in one of his tours 20 years ago). He talked to us about the Bible stories told in the stained glass and showed us the South portal Carvings and discussed the medieval lesson being taught about Christ sitting in Judgment. The virtuous go off to Heaven on the left and the sinners go into the mouth of a fire-breathing monster on the right (see picture). There is a multi-year renovation project underway and scaffolding covered nearly the entire nave (see picture), but the areas that have already been cleaned look fabulous, so I am all in favor of them continuing their efforts (see picture). I spent the rest of the afternoon catching up on various things, including getting a haircut. I don't know if the French have barbers, but if so, I haven't noticed any. They do have hair salons and, from what I have seen, their customers are divided about equally between the sexes. I rather enjoyed my salon experience today and I came away with a good haircut. I think I should be set until I get back home now!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.334s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1256s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb