My love affair with Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
June 7th 2012
Published: June 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Determined to make the most of my stay in this fascinating and culturally diverse place, I set off after a fashionably late and low calorie breakfast of crispy croissant and filter coffee. Backpack suitably filled with maps, travel pass, umbrella, fruit, sunscreen and a novel to pass any spare time, I was prepared for a big day. First stop was Notre Dame. Most sights are easy to spot by the large crowds, and this one was no exception. Several queues presented themselves and there was no choice but to wait in the rain.... I sheltered myself and a chatty American while we waited uner my floral umbrella! Once inside, the magnificence and splendour of the architecture was overwhelming. Being a functional place as well as a tourist drawcard, mass was being said and I could not resist sitting in for communion. Several shrines for silent prayers lined the outer area and once again my candle shed its tiny light in a sea of many.

Inspired, it was back out into the dismal and wet streets to join the crowds and pick up a bus to the Musee D'Orsay, where a Degas exhibition was featured. This revered master was obsessed with the female form, particularly when bathing or of course, when dancing. I just loved some of the other exhibits; the glorious La Naissance de Venus, which features cupids around a long haired and beautiful Venus emerging from a shell. Or the mesmerising sight of Henri Gervex's Rolla, the beautifull Marie sprawled on white bedding, with her lover contemplating suicide by the window.

Outisde it was still raining, so I settled down to a cafe lunch of quiche, salad, glass of the best white wine I have had since arriving here, and a home made and delicious creme caramel for dessert. C'est la vie! It was luck that the sun emerged for the next few hours, as I had the Eiffel Tower again in my sights. Refusing to join the masses queuing for the lift, I made for the stairs.... It was a test of fitness, and to my surprise I did not feel at all uneasy (due to the dizzying height) whilst climbing the many stairs to the second floor viewing platform. The splendid view of the city of Paris made it all worthwhile, it was a beautiful sight to see; bathed in sunshine. The wind was extremely strong and gave me an extreme 'bad hair' day.....

Last stop for the day was Rue Rivoli, a poor cousin of the Champs Élysées. Bristling with souvenir shops, I found some momentoes of my trip and managed a quick trip into Starbucks for coffee and an internet fix. Back at the hotel early, it was time to cook my first hot meal in the room: mushrooms, eschallots, garlic, tomato and plenty of butter. Washed down with a nice glass of rosé and caramel chocolate to finish. Yes, I am putting on weight but enjoying every minute.....

The traffic roars past my window into the night as I reflect on the richness and wonder of the Parisian lifestyle. Last day tomorrow, it will be bittersweet.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.243s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0802s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb