Day trip to the French Countryside


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
May 2nd 2004
Published: January 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

After several days of crash course emersion with a new group, a day off in the countryside to unwind was an order. I had enough credits on my Geneva transit card to make it to the outlying French vineyards. Personal hopes of also finding cheaper groceries were dashed when I realized that I had chosen to venture out on a Sunday. A huge supermarket that doubtless had cheaper goods was nicely sealed up due to the day of the week. I thus had to be content with walking through wine country and feeding horses etc. The border with France is not marked if one is on trails (I found out I had crossed the border via some other people on a hike). The border crossing has (French) border guards stationed at it, but there is no passport control. They sit and watch the cars go by, perhaps looking out for ones on the stolen watch list. I guess the Swiss are not too concerned about stolen French cars ending up in the country. I asked for a stamp to prove that I had actually been to France, but this was not given supposedly because “Switzerland had signed the Schengen border treaty,” but most likely due to the fact that the border guard was just being French.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 78; dbt: 0.1129s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb