A Lil Bit of R&R


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
June 29th 2008
Published: June 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Rest and relaxation is just about all we’ve been doing for a while. In the beautiful Gorge Du Tarn, we were all going to go canoeing. Unfortunately, they had an age restriction, and I wasn’t old enough. But, regardless of that, the river bank was beautiful to play by.

The next two days were travel days to get to Orcet and Le Pay en Valley. We were amazed because we were travelling to volcanos that were no longer active, but we were all disappointed to find that the weather wasn’t being cooperative, and we were being rained upon. The volcanos were cloudy, and even if we did go up, the view would be covered with mist.

On our second day at Le Puy en Vallay, we went up a huge hill to get to a church. The church may have been small, but it was very holy. There were paintings on the walls, and we lit a candle. The view from the top of the hill was amazing.

W travelled from Le Puy en Vallay to Vallon Pont D’ Arc. There is a lovely river, that we all played on. The water was… FREEZING! It’s a wonder how we all managed to swim. But, I guess the coldest part was when you were getting in the water. When you were swimming, it wasn’t that bad. You feel very refreshed afterwards.

I figured out how to make little sail boats out of leaves,.that we watched sail down the mini rapids with ease, but when they got to the real rapids, they sunk. I then made a stronger boat. It didn’t get any further than the others. Why bother.

Luckily, I was allowed to go canoeing. We went through mini rapids. They were so much fun. The scary rapids were the ones where you nearly hit a rock. This happened to me twice. Freaky! Luckily, we didn’t capsize, but we saw plenty of others around us who did. The view was amazing. The big rocks and the beautiful river really do match. It was a tiring day, and it didn’t help when I had to wait an hour for the bus, and be on the bus for 45 mins. On the last time at the river, I attempted fishing with an old piece of fishing line I found, a stick, ( the rod ) a rock ( as the sinker ) and a little bit of moss ( as the bait ). I didn’t expect to catch anything.
1. I was needing a hook.
2. The fish here aren’t gullible. Regardless of the fact I didn’t even get a nibble, it was fun anyway.

The next day, we travelled to Lake St Croix. It was a change going from rivers to lakes. That’s where I met my friend Lily. ( I hope you’re reading this Lily!) she is from Germany and she is on school holiday. She was very nice. We walked down to the lake together.

The next day, Lily was leaving. Luckily, it was in the afternoon, so we still had all day to go swimming and other things. We went swimming, and it was a change from the freezing river water. I put my head underwater and saw fish. Cool! After swimming, playing, swimming and more swimming, we said a sad goodbye to Lily.

The next day, we all went canoeing along Gorge du Verdon. It was very beautiful. I was in a canoe with Mum. We paddled a long way, and back. Very tiring.

The next day we went to Les Salles Du Verdon. We swam at the lake and I saw some fish. I tried catching them with my hands, but the fish can swim faster than my arms can grab. Very fun.

The next day, we travelled yet again. As we were travelling along, we saw a pool, and temptation got the better of us. Luckily, it was free.

Today was a travel day. After going through a very long tunnel and more travel, we arrived where I am now.

Thanks for reading.
Bye, From Maddy.
PS Leave a comment!




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Kings headKings head
Kings head

Don't you think that rock looks like a kings head a bit?
Me and LilyMe and Lily
Me and Lily

This is Lily!
Purple grass?Purple grass?
Purple grass?

Awesome! Purple grass, oh, wait, that's lavender.
Just Piffing Rocks.Just Piffing Rocks.
Just Piffing Rocks.

We're innocent. Just throwing rocks and disturbing peoples peace.


1st July 2008

hello
hello it looks sunny over there it isn't over here which is a drag but it's not usally sunny in the middle of winter .
1st July 2008

i just remembered
2 days ago i went and saw the footy (the tickets i got for my for my birthday)you know BRISBANE V melbourne very sadly melbourne is on the bottom of the ladder and we lost by a point poor Brisbane melbourne just happned to kick the winning goal in the last two second brisbane are still 5th on the ladder.
11th July 2008

hey
hey maddy it sounds like your having a fantastic time!! im soooo jealous.....it was only 12 degrees today. the water is beautiful.....it reminds me of summer. was canoeing fun? it looks fun! say hello to everyone. tell your parents that my mum and dad say hi!! and tell your carl that my dad thinks his very gutzy to have done that mountain race!!! lots of love georgia xoxoxo

Tot: 0.272s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb