Driving in the mountains


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
September 29th 2014
Published: November 10th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 45.7673, 4.83433

We left Nice and began climbing up into the mountains. It is very beautiful here. We drove for 200 kilometers to Gap. There was nothing of real value to see in Gap, just the church. But it was halfway to our next stop, which is Lyon. We drove through some beautiful scenery to get to Lyon. After we checked into our hotel we took the bus to old town and then got on the funicular to go up to the cathedral here. We have seen a lot of old churches and cathedrals. Every time we see a cathedral, we say wow, you can't top that. But then at the next cathedral, it is way nicer than the last. All I can say is that the Catholics sure had a lot of money back then, because each cathedral is more extravagant than the last.
Tomorrow we go back up the funicular to see some ancient Roman theatres. One is supposed to seat 10,000 and the other 2,500.
On Wednesday, we head to Beaune.
As a side note. I haven't been receiving any comments on the blog lately. I think that this the last trip for the computer.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



29th September 2014

I think this is my favorite of the churches you have shown
30th September 2014

I really enjoy seeing all the pictures. I haven't commented on a lot because I didn't want to seem excessive. Please don't stop doing the blog. I love the funny stories and live through your adventures. Mac and I want to go to Europe so
meday, so for now we get to enjoy your adventures.
30th September 2014

Just stunning. They are all beautiful. I can't imagine in person.
7th October 2014

Hey...lets go build a rock castle!!

Tot: 0.243s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0609s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb