The French Adventure: Lyon and the campus blues


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Rhône-Alpes » Lyon
June 28th 2012
Published: June 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I'm back again and will be practicing my multitasking skills by writing this blog and cooking at the same time! So, to come back where I left off, after I had managed to get to Lyon by train the 26th, I had to continue my journey with bus that brought me to the address I was supposed to be at. Now, where I was expecting a mere apartment building in a suburban neighborhood, I was actually at a full grown campus location with lots of buildings and confusing roads. After dragging my suitcase and backpack around the entire campus, a nice English speaking student (HALLELUJAH!) showed me where I had to arrange all the paperwork and I finally could get into my room.

My room and campus

Fortunately, I have a room of my own with kitchen, bathroom and quite a nice view on top of that. The campus is near a fortress and parts of this fortress are also on the campus. Additionally there's are many places with grass and tress, which are probably very suitable for sunbathing and studying at the same time. However, a little less fortunately is the fact that the light in my bathroom doesn't work and neither does my roll-down shutter (I admit that I didn't even know that this was the work for rolluik in English). However, my favorite part of the room is that whenever I take a shower, my rooms gets flooded, since there's some kind of leech in my shower. Oh, and it's warm here too... although I have a gigantic window, it's quite hard to cool down this room.

This all didn't help yesterday, when I was feeling quite down and wondered why on earth I wanted to go to country of which I barely spoke the language. Furthermore, since my course starts this Monday, most people for the summerschool haven't arrived yet and most French students have left the campus already or are doing so. On top of that, when I got here it was quite an unpleasant surprise that, although my room is furnished (in slightly Spartan style), there were no pieces of cutlery, plates, pots or anything like that. Thus yesterday I had to make my way to a massive Carrefour supermarket to get all of that. However, later that day, after I had explained the people working at the campus all that was malfunctioning in my room, my cheerfulness had returned and hasn't faded since. It is all just really takes some getting used to I guess, so for now I'll just continue to feel like a total first year student and find my way around.

University area

Today, the 28th, I went out visit one of the university areas, Bellecour, to see where I have to take my placement test for the french course. I must say, it is quite a lovely area, with nice buildings, artwork and shops. Bellecour is also very close to the big shopping street that leads up the station Perrache. From it's main square you can see a part of what I'm assuming the the old part of Lyon, which I hope to visit some time soon.

As for the coming weekend, I will not be wandering around Lyon but I will make a massive train ride to Arras to go to Main Square Festival! À bientôt!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

The floodThe flood
The flood

Quick shower version


11th July 2012

Happy birthday!
Happy birthday Maartje! We wish you all the best and hope you will have a very good health and lots of success in the following years! 21 Years.....quite an age, isn't it? Hope to get you on the phone today....Enjoy this special day in Lyon. Tonight we say "Cheers". In a few days we'll meet again and celebrate again.....Lots of love and birthdaykisses, John and Frits

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb