Lazy and Lovely Day in Lyon


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Rhône-Alpes » Lyon
April 22nd 2011
Published: April 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

Where the Musee Lumiere is located. It's where the first moving picture film was shot.
I only have two days in Lyon so today I had to make sure to fit in what I really wanted to see. In the end, two days was perfect. I didn't feel rushed and I truly got to do what I wanted to do. I'm also starting to get into the "routine" of travelling. There is something very different about living out of a suitcase. In reading a few Buddhist things, there is always a recurring theme with respect to not having attachment to material things. Although I do believe that to be true, I do have to say that it is much more evident to me now. I literally am carting my life around in a small suitcase and I probably couldn't be happier!! I am only focusing on seeing pretty things, taking photos and just being in the moment. There is something very blissful about that. What I will need to learn is to translate that into my every day life when I get back to reality!!!

The first stop of the day was the Musée Lumière. As you know, I love photography and the idea of visiting the museum dedicated to the family that invented the
Photo 4Photo 4Photo 4

Inside the Chateau Lumiere - Salon de l'Hiver.
moving film definitely piqued my interest. The museum itself is housed in Chateau Lumière on Rue du Premier Film. It is referred to as a chateau but it is more of a nickname that was given to this grand mansion in the days when it was first originally built. The Lumière family were not photographers or cinematographers but industrialists. They made their fortune through the advancements in the moving pictures and in photography. They are credited with having made the first moving picture film as well as having invented colour photography. They are also credited with having invented artificial limbs for amputees as well as a number of other inventions.

The visit of the museum has you wind your way through the different rooms of the mansion and is filled with antique cameras, cinematoscopes and advertising posters. The first film "Sortie de l'Usine" is also projected on the wall as are many other films. There is also an area dedicated to Gabriel Veyre who was one of the first operators of the cinematoscope. He literally travelled the world in the late 1890's to capture images on film and in photographs. The photos are truly awe inspiring. The idea that
Photo 5Photo 5Photo 5

Cinematoscope
this man criss crossed the world back in those years is mind boggling. For the 100 year anniversary, they allowed 40 different directors to use the very first cinematoscope to shoot a short film. This is projected in one of the rooms. I didn't understand at first that this was a modern movie shot with this antique camera and was just amazed about how much one of the actors looked like Ralph Fienes. I got the hint when one of the other actors looked alot like Aidan Quinn ... ahem ... I'm not always the brightest!!

From there, I would make my way back to Vieux Lyon. Initially I was going back because that is where my metro connected but I decided on the way to take the funicular direction St-Just and stop at Minimes to see the Roman Theatre. The sight is not huge but it still shows the remnants of a typical Roman theatre. It has definitely been restored and by the modern installations around, I would venture a guess that it is currently being used to hold different events. From the top of the theatre, you also get an incredible view of the Basilica Notre Dame
Photo 6Photo 6Photo 6

Bedroom of Antoine Lumiere
de Fourviere.

I went back down with the funicular and decided to stop at a cute cafe called Cafe de la Ficelle. It is a tea house as well but when in France ... it's cafe creme ... I could not be swayed by the selection of teas! I'll detox and revert to my Davids Tea obsession once back home. They did have a Lapsang Souchong .... for everyone who's been in my office when I drink this particular tea ... it's the one that smells like a camp fire!! I love it but café crème are outright addictive! And with that I decided to block another artery and have the Aveyronnaise crepe. It was a buckwheat crepe with rocquefort cheese and walnuts. Have you guessed yet that I love cheese?

And it is while sitting in that little café that I noticed the Bijoux Ewran Creations. After the loveliness of the crepe, I made my way across Place St. Jean to see that little boutique. I found the cutest little bracelet with the words Carpe Diem. Because of the limited space in luggage, I had mentioned wanting to not bring back a bunch of knick knacks but
Photo 7Photo 7Photo 7

A wealthy family ... they had a phone and central heating
rather only a few things with some meaning to them. Carpe Diem ... what this whole trip is about.

I then hopped back on the metro and made my way to the Croix Rousse region of the city. The only recommendation from the guidebook was the Maison des Canuts which I visited. It is a small museum and shop dedicated to silk weaving and silk products. Having been to a silk farm in Cambodia, it was interesting to see the looms and exactly the same kind of equipment and contraptions as I had seen in Siem Reap. Otherwise the Croix Rousse is filled with little boutiques and cafés and it is one photo op after the next. So I simply walked around aimlessly, going in and out of shops and taking photo after photo. I did manage to find some violet scented candies which I love. I'm not entirely convinced that there will be any left by the time I go back to Canada!!! The owner of the shop found my Canadian accent charming ... I really can't hide it, can I? My meandering around the Croix Rousse was topped off by gelato at the Regal Glace. I love
Photo 8Photo 8Photo 8

Scale model of the Chateau Lumiere
the taste of chocolate and orange (I am addicted to that orange that you have to whack on the wall!!!) so the fact that they had gelato in that flavour just sent me over the edge!! I know ... easily amused!!! So I contently ate my gelato in a square in the Croix Rousse and that is how my day ended in Lyon.

My suitcase is packed and I am now lounging in the comfort of my hotel. The window is wide open and I am lulled into relaxation by the sounds of Lyon. The sun is setting over the Rhone river. Again ... it's bliss.




Additional photos below
Photos: 56, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

Photo 9Photo 9
Photo 9

Scale model of the Chateau Lumiere
Photo 10Photo 10
Photo 10

Grand Staircase at the Chateau Lumiere
Photo 11Photo 11
Photo 11

Outside of the Chateau Lumiee
Photo 12Photo 12
Photo 12

Roman ruins in Lyon
Photo 13Photo 13
Photo 13

Roman ruins
Photo 14Photo 14
Photo 14

Get a photo of the view
Photo 15Photo 15
Photo 15

Roman Ruins are nearby to the Basilica Notre Dame de Fourviere
Photo 16Photo 16
Photo 16

Nearby to the roman ruins
Photo 18Photo 18
Photo 18

Roman Theatre
Photo 19Photo 19
Photo 19

Roman Theatre
Photo 20Photo 20
Photo 20

Cafe de la Ficelle in Vieux Lyon
Photo 21Photo 21
Photo 21

Cafe de la Ficelle in Vieux Lyon
Photo 22Photo 22
Photo 22

Cafe creme to start
Photo 23Photo 23
Photo 23

Crepe Aveyronnaise ... buckwheat crepe with rocquefort cheese and walnuts


22nd April 2011
Photo 57

I wouldn't mind trying one of those velvet guys when you get back...
26th April 2011

fafournier@yahoo.com
Well, I am still in Lyon while you are still in Marseille:) Again, great photos! The crêpe looks so yummy in such a dainty way:) The bracelet is beautiful and...a daily reminder as well:) Be safe and be well...
26th April 2011

@ JF...I don't think there will be many left in that box when she returns:)

Tot: 0.308s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 60; dbt: 0.1093s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb