Premier Neige


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Rhône-Alpes » Chamonix
December 21st 2008
Published: December 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

At last my first day on the mountain ! After several false dawns when the weather conditions were just too adverse, I set off yesterday finally for some fresh air and fresh powder at La Tour with Suzy and Susanna.

It has been snowing loads, about 2m up top so I was glad to finally get out on the mountain as I was getting a bit of mid season blues already, if that's possible in December? My healthy tan has deteriorated rapidly after 6 weeks of sleepless nights in the bunkbed, I now have dark rings under my eyes and the patisserie habit is starting to affect my waistline. Instead of waterproof mascara, this winter I'll be using a lot of Radiant Touch!

This season I am making use of my free ski and boot hire and am determined to master skiing so I can pick and choose between boarding and skiing depending on the conditions. I did go on a skiing holiday about 12 years ago but everyone was saying its just like riding a bike, you dont forget and actually I was much better than I expected ! Check me out , I look like a real skier !

Office has been a bit dull so far, not as much frivolity as last year, although I have already aquired a new nickname - Alan - don't ask ?! Any excuse to get out and about, we've done three 700km roadtrips to Alpe D'Huez for accounts training, stopping off via Ikea for some swedish meatballs. This week we had a roadtrip to La Plagne to archive last years paperwork, and stopped off for some tartiflette on expenses. It was well earned after shifting 30 boxes up and 30 boxes down 2 flights of stairs in a freezing cold warehouse.

But things are starting to get going now, guests are now arriving so we have some proper work to do, Chamonix is open again after interseason, ski lifts are open, apres bars are open and Monkey has started its fish and chip Fridays again ! Nights out this winter though are carefully planned around 2for1s and happy hours as the euro exchange rate gets worse by the day and we get paid in pounds everyone is feeling it. We have also all become experts at spotting the special offer stickers in Super U. Best bargain so far was 30 eggs for 1€ !

Tomorrow night we have our office Christmas party with Christmas dinner and secret santa. Its the usual gift lottery but with only 10€ budget 80% receive ski hats or socks ! No doubt there will be the usual Christmas Eve bar crawl and Christmas morning hungover skiing & boarding. Christmas dinner is planned at the house with the biggest dining table and best oven, I think there'll be 11 of us and we're just doing the shopping list in the office now. When I say proper work, of course its all relative !

So I wish you all a Joyeux Noel and Bonne Annee ! Thank you all for my cards and parcels, will be thinking of you all as I enjoy the festivities in my snowy alpine home! Its great to get asked to fill out a holiday questionnaire on the piste and be able to say, actually we live here !

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb