Back in Cham


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Rhône-Alpes » Chamonix
November 23rd 2008
Published: November 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Bonjour ! My holiday is well and truly over, I am back in Cham at last and settling back into mountain life. 2 weeks in the office done and the weekends off. It’s a little strange here so far, same but different, some familiar faces and some newbies.

I have a new desk by the window, sitting next to Rosy again. They tried to split us up so we had to put our foot down! Luckily our stressful summer together hasn’t affected our friendship. We just have agreed to differ about certain things. I’ve already had a note on my desk saying ‘I love you more than sausages’ and an email saying ‘I look like a potato’. There’s not much hope for my mental health but Rosy has also emailed me the number for Samaritans so I should be OK.

Our new colleagues Rory and Gordon seem a bit quiet and serious at the moment even doing overtime at the weekends ! They weren’t too pleased when we lost them driving vans to Alpe d’Huez for training this week and they arrived 2 hours late. Caught up with Alix from this summer and Dave from last for a mini Marina reunion.

I also have a new apartment in Cham Sud about 10 mins walk from the office with a balcony and view of Mont Blanc and a bath ! But am sleeping in a bunk bed for the first time since I was about 9 ! Not really happy about that but am in discussions with the boss about it currently.

No wifi at home this year, so roast dinners at the Monkey bar or milkshakes at Macdonalds with free wifi connection. Haven’t been able to take many pictures yet for my blog as its been quite rainy and snowy already but hopefully that means a good season ahead.

All of you I did get to see over the last few weeks will know I’ve been having a bit of a dilemma about what to do next year, so I dug out my life coach plan from Feb07 and brought it with me. It was good to remind myself why I’m here.

‘Places people are most concerned about where they live, near the mountains or by the sea even if this means a drop in their standard of living’ Never a truer word!

So who needs a luxury riverside apartment on the Thames when I can have a life of bunkbeds and caravans until I can afford to retire to the Riviera within a short hop of the Southern Alps - French or Italian - I’m not fussy. Rather that than working all year round to pay for my holidays!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb