NICE is very very nice!!!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur » Nice
July 18th 2009
Published: August 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Woke up around 8ish from the ramble tamble of the train. There wasnt anyone in the room which was kind of surprising since im used to waking up to random ppl chatting in the cabin. We were getting close now it was certainly warm outside and it looked lovely. Got to Nice around 930am and jumped off. Ahhh im here. SO warm. I read up about Nice and it said that if i wanted a hostel get a spot secured before 10 or else there will be NO chance. There was supposed to be quite a few spots close to the station. A Canadian girl told me the same when i said hi when i saw her flag. SHe was just leaving so that sucked. Walked to where she told me to go and didnt find squat. So i figured i would find something further into town. I wanted to see the beach, I was dying for a good swim after that crazy experience in the rain yesterday.
COuldnt find any hot spots for wifi anywhere. Found a little cafe that didnt seem too expensive just up from the beach. I sat down and ordered a fruit crepe and an espresso. Finished that in less then 5 seconds. After about 10mins from ordering the lady says to me. AHhhh well its gonna take about 15 mins to warm up this baby if you still want to wait. I was like yahhhh i do. Had my coffee. There was an internet place just in behind the cafe down an alley. I left my stuff at the table cause there were ppl all around to watch my stuff and went to ask if they had wifi for cheap. NOPE no wifi and it was ridiculous expensive. 4 Euro for an hour on their computer. HAHAHAHA i think not. I went back to my table and my crepe was on the table within 5 mins. Yes it looks delicous eh. Pretty sweet breaky for what im used to.
After that i headed towards the beach. There was something going on in the park just up from the beach. Tons and tons of ppl. Turns out it was a boccee ball tourny. Probably about 50 games going on in this big park with all these gated sand pits set up. Pretty cool. They seemed to be really into it. I walked through there and sat down at the park bench across from the beach. There was a sign that said free wifi at this cafe cross the street. BINGO!!! Totally true too. Surfed the net for awhile looking for hostels and doing all the other things i need to do catching up with the rest of the world. NO rooms left in NICE at all. SHit!!! Well other than 65 euros a night for a trash one room hotel. No thanks. Welp see what happens i dont care if i have to sleep in the park this place is wicked.
Packed up my comp crap and walked across the street. OH MY GOD. THe bluest most perfect beach ive ever seen. It didnt even look real. To top it off there were heaps and heaps of topless women scattered around the beach. I WAS IN HEAVEN. Maybe i could be religous after all since this what i pictured heaven to be. Ha wow now this is what ive been waiting for.
THrew my bags down underneath the lifeguards station where there were a couple bikes as well. I set up all my wet clothes from the night before on the fence so they could dry and put my towel down on the rocky beach. That was pretty much the only downfall. But who cares theres topless women everywhere. SOme i have to say were old saggy hags but meh. It was a beautiful thing to have this natural essence at the beach. GOtta take the good with the bad right.
This fat old Italian dude in a tight little speedo started chatting me up. He didnt speak a word of english but i tried my best to understand him and relay back some of the italian i knew but mostly bastardized spanish. He seemed to enjoy that i was at least trying. He was on vacation with his mother who was sitting in her wheel chair just across the way. Very cute. I offered him some of the left over candy i had from the Tour. He declined, and i proceeded to rot my teeth and shot an uncanny amount of pictures. I was kinda paranoid of just leaving my bag there and wanted to hit the water so i locked it all up, with a bit of trouble with this chicken wire contraption i have. There ok im off to the water.
Soooooo warm oh my god. It was just as warm if not warmer, then the kiddy pool at home, that has been peeded in by god knows how many toddlers. Really salty as well. I took a few ounces down the throat from the waves roving in randomly.
Ahhh i dont know if i wanna leave this place. ITs too good. EXACTLY where i wanted to be the whole time.
THe sun was just pounding down as well. Must have been 35 plus and i was lathered in sun screen.
The most amazing woman in the freaking world was sitting beside me. This sleazy french dude was just slobbering over her the whole time. Bugging her and trying to do whatever he could to keep her attention. PRetty funny. He beat me to it though i have to say. HAHAHa freaking speedo dudes.
Well after about 3 hrs i had to take a break from the sun and figure out just where i was gonna rest my head tonight. Went up to the bar and sat down, plugged in the old lappy. I gotta make a name for it that would be kinda funny. I ordered the cheapest thing on the menu to be an actual customer. Got a coffee which cost 2 Euro. I was golden.
Talked to my parents for awhile on the internet and watched the TOur on my computer. Spent like 4 hrs browsing chatting and just enjoying my time. No rooms at all though. I asked one of the waiters and he said he didnt know but came back and told me i could stay with him if i was really desperate!! WOW how nice is that never expected that at all. I put something about how nice, NICE is on facebook and my Finnish buddy Mikko saw that and said IM in NICE as well. HA freaking awesome maybe hes got a place to stay who knows. I had a bit of a tough time getting ahold of him as he didnt respond very fast at all and i didnt have a celly. He gave me his number but it wouldnt work on skype for some reason. SOmething was wrong with it cause it kept saying it was out of service.
Left the cafe finally and went to go meet him at the left side of the beach. Hopefully he was facing the beach when he gave that direction cause that was the way i was going. It was much closer as well as the right side was at least a 30 min walk away. Looking for this volleyball court as i walked down the beach i walked to this stairwell to look down the beach. There he was i recognized his face after a few seconds. HAHA wicked. He came up and exchanged hellos like old friends. What was it two weeks since we last saw each other!! He spoke really good english he just spoke it his certain Finnish way.
We chatted for a few mins to catch up and decided to head to his hostel to see if they had a spot for me to stay there. They supposedly had one more spot when he was there. Walked through the streets where these Brazilians dancers were putting on a show doing moves and things. He told me the story of what happened to him on the way. His motorbike pretty much died as soon as he got to Denmark. THe bike is actually still there in the shop waiting to be fixed. He just said fuck it and bought a rail pass like me. What a geee. hhaha feel bad for him and his shit luck. Got to the hostel and it was pitch black in the apartment trying to find the keyhole. I used my ipod to direct the way. Turns out we were on the wrong floor thats why. THe person might have been at home frightened as hell on the other side of that door as we were trying to get in.
Went upstairs and of course they had no room left. Aussie dude said sorry mate. Someone was even crashing on the couch so that option was out. Screw it i thought, ill either find some company or ill sleep on the lovely beach. I read that they dont mind ppl doing that as the police look the other way with accomodation selling out repeadtly.
Left my bag on his bed. CHanged up the clothes and we headed to get some drinks. Grocery store just down the tiny alley. Grabbed like 4 beers each and i grabbed a bottle of wine just in case!! Went down to the beach and sat down. There were these crazy french kids asking us about hash. THey must have been 15 or something. I told no thanks i have just been in Amsterdam and they were impressed!! They sat by us and chatted for awhile. We sipped our beers and watched as the sun dropped below the horizon. SO nice there was this huge waterfall up on the cliff. Started chatting to these other dudes sitting across from us who turned out to be Danish. WHo knew danish ppl travel!! hahaha. Cool guys. They ran out of there cheap beer so i shared some of my wine with the lot of em.
Well by now the beach was coming alive. People were flocking to the beach. THere were people with drums and guitars dancing around. No fires but the waterfall above illuminated in the moonlight. It was specatcular to say the least. There was a group of girls just over from us and i went over to ask them if they might have a cork screw for my wine. They were french after all but they didnt have one. Nuts. Oh well. One of the Danish dudes went over a couple mins later and got em to come sit with us to chat. Great move. They were all great looking!!! Yeeha what could be a better finish to the night then this.
Turns out one of them kinda fancied me. I wish i could remember her name haha. Well we got to know each other pretty quickly more than anyone else for sure. 18 yrs old and quite the woman already. France i take it all back ur wonderful.
SHe taught me a few things about France thats for sure!! Well just my luck she had meet her cousin who was coming into town just now. AHHHH damn. SHe told me that she wanted to take me up to the waterfall tommorow and show me around. I thought that was pretty sweet so i gave her my email and Mikkos # to get ahold of me. Said our goodbyes and that was it.
Stayed on the beach a bit longer. Those Danish fellows were right pissed by now. Hahaha i dont know what got into them. ONe of em disapeared and the other was passing out. Not the typical Danes i know and love.
After Mikko and i set out for some food. Starving hadnt really eaten much since my crepe so i was due for something immense. We ran into another set of girls who we chatted up for awhile as well. They were Dutch from Amsterdam actually. They said that they were going jet skiing tommorow with some dudes they met yesterday. Girls get all the breaks eh.
Found our way to this kebab place which was the only decent thing open. Walked back to the hostel. Mikko thought i was crazy for this beach thing. I hadnt done anything like this before but i wasnt too worried about it. Got to the hostel and met some American chicks in the hostel. They got to be kind of annoying after awhile with their Canadian stereotypes and werent even that cute so my patients wore thin after awhile. Grabbed my bag and i was gone.
Mikko said he wanted to go with me to Monnaco tommorow around noon. Sounds good to me if i dont have to take an early train if something goes wrong. Walked down to the beach and sure enough there were people all around. Met this bunch of dudes three of which were from Calgary and the others i have no idea. They said to me as i was walking by around 2am. No place to stay tonight. I said nope crashing on the beach. THey said well crash here if you want power in numbers right. They had a bunch of lawn chairs set up so i was down. Well one of them must of been on something cause he kept going back to get more lawnchairs from the private club next door. THis turned out to be a bad move. HE says shiiiiiiiit as he comes running back with the next chair. THe security is coming. They all grabbed there stuff and ran. I was only with them maybe ten mins. They scattered like little girls as these two dudes come running out of the dark. I was too stunned to do anything and didnt have ample time to grab my bags and run so i just stayed put. THey come up to me and say. Did you see those guys where did they go. I said ah theres 6 of em Americans they went that way. AHAHAHA so they ran up a bit and said screw it. They packed all the chairs up and hiked em all back down with some great displeasure. Fucking americans they kept saying hahahaa. I layed down and there was another dude just 15 ft awaay from me sleeping as well. Time to sleep. Night night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 31


Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.1163s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb