Walking in Marseilla


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur » Marseille
September 10th 2011
Published: September 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Waking up weighing less then I did last night from all the sweat. Its time to take a shower.

Met up with my new travel friend Ali around 1030 at the train station to get our tickets to Interlaken. ( BACKSTORY: Ali and I met on the train heading to Maresilla from Barcelona. We were pretty much on the same travel plan for the next week so we are going to be travel buddies. It feels good to travel with some one for a little)

We got our tickets and went back to the port of Marseilla and walked around to a fort that was at the entrance of the port. At lunch we had some amazing mussels at a cafe next to the port that came in a Huge bucket with the best sauce on it.

I finally got a hold of my two friends here in Marseilla and met up with them. They showed us around a melting pot part of the city. Walls with tons of graffiti but really cool graffiti. People find a spot and paint it. Then you could go back next week and it could be completely different with new art on it. Saw a few parks. One of the parks with a fountain in it was designed by a lady from Marseilla.. well she messed up the design because she built the fountain part lower then the one side of the park and so she messed up the drainage system so now they dont fun the fountain anymore and the water is dirty. Ha. Good job Marseilla.

After our awesome walking tour I had to head back to my hostel so I can move my stuff to the guys house that Im staying at. He was really cool and we chilled and talked for a little. He is from a small city outside of Dallas and here for 2 years on a mission trip. His flat was really nice and I didnt sweat all night. Ali and I met back up grabbed food and then walked the city at night and chilled and saw some interesting night life with crazy people. Then i headed back to my place and needed to hit the sack early since tomorrow we are going to the Calanques De Marseilla.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0626s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb