Cannes


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur » Cannes
June 20th 2013
Published: June 21st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Well its time to be among the stars. Day trip to Cannes, home of the Cannes film festival. I wake up early in the morning and it is raining, a lot. I went back to sleep and slept in a bit( for me which is 7:30) and with this much rain, I decide not to run. Im on vacation right? So after I lazily wake up and get ready, I head back down to the Gare Thiers and catch a train, this time in the opposite direction. After about 30 minutes I arrive in a very cloudy Cannes. From the map it seems really easy to navigate. There seems to be two main arteries. Rue de la Croisette and Rue D'Antibes. I head down a side street, a funny name, rue 24 aout. Which is 24th of august street. It takes no time before I find myself on Rue de la Croisette. I wander over to Hotel de ville, and see an old castle perched on top of a hill. From my map it seems that this is the Musee de la castre. I make my way up the long steep hill, and find an old stone castle and a great vantage point to take photos. I explore a tiny bit, click here and there,and go back down. I see in the distance the Palais des Festivals, the epicenter of Cannes. This is where the film festival is held and where the stars flock to. You can see that this city revolves around Events like this. About every 3rd person had a press pass hung around their neck. You could hear business chat when you walked by the outside terraces. Men in linen pants,dragging on cigarettes, bumping into each other in the streets and exchanging familiarities. Raspy american voices and rounded british accents. A lot of ladies wearing designer this and that , strong perfume and bad plastic surgery. I walked further down the street to check all the luxury Hotels. And all the luxury cars parked out side them. Very interesting. How the other half live. Because Cannes is so small it easy to do the city in a short amount of time. I walked around the Suquet, the old quarter, and finished up on Rue d'antibe, which had a lot of shopping. Quick and easy way to do Cannes in a day. I felt accomplished heading back to Nice. Next up, Monaco!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.294s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0651s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb