Angers to La Rochelle/Rochefort


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Poitou-Charentes » Rochefort
August 30th 2010
Published: August 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Not much to say today apart from I'm 25 miles ahead of schedule, thanks to a very favourable breeze. Went through La Rochelle about 6pm, stopping for a raclette and tomato juice, ending up in Rochefort. I worked a few things out today though

- pretty much impossible to get served food between 2pm and 6pm, even in big towns.
- the D111 between La Rochelle and Rochefort is not meant for road bikes.
- how to ask politely for my water bottles to be filled.
- The meaning of ralentisseur.

The last one coming as a bit of a shock at the bottom of a rather steep hill.

Off to Bordeaux tomorrow, although might keep going if still feeling ok. There is a place called 'La Barp' which sound like fun, just a bit further on.

Advertisement



31st August 2010

Go Craig
I'll have a pie ready on you return!
1st September 2010

Thanks :)
As I've just started my French course, I'm appreciating these new words you're relating! Ralentisseur is definitely one I intend to remember, hehe.

Tot: 0.234s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb