Xmas 2014 - Soissons, France - A Great Start


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Picardy » Soissons
December 17th 2014
Published: December 17th 2014
Edit Blog Post

France was kind of a last minute decision for me as I had planned to hit the German Christmas markets this year. However, I found out my friends were going and despite being extremely nervous about speaking only about 10 words in French, I decided to meet them in Paris! I took Emirates airline, the A380 (not business class this time) and the economy seats were surprisingly comfortable - usually Emirates seats have some weird bar that pushes out your lower back… I checked in online so was able to get aisle seats and since the line was so long at the baggage drop, I just took my huge backpack on board.

I slept pretty well off and on during both flights, though from Doha I was rudely awakened repeatedly by the woman next to me who kept thrusting her arm across my face to reach across the aisle to her companion. Seriously, some people have no sense of space. Like the woman (same nationality, I will not say here) who was all up on me in the customs line at Charles de Gaulle. I was carrying my huge backpack and she kept pushing me from behind, knocking me off
The wonderful cafeThe wonderful cafeThe wonderful cafe

These ladies were so sweet - they really seemed to want nothing and just to do a kindness
balance. I kept looking at her, but she obviously didn't get it, so I told her to get in front of me. THe woman behind her started speaking to me in French; I could not tell exactly what she was saying, but I understood her commiseration and appreciated it. Then it turns out she is British, so we were able to chat in line which helped pass the time.

Anyway, CdG is a huge, huge airport but with lots of transportation options within fairly easy reach. It was confusing about catching trains though - one office sold train tickets only to Paris, while another sold tickets to other locations, but half of them had to go through Paris, so you had to go to both offices. I will say though that the staff were generally pretty friendly all around.

Soissons

A little background. My great-grandfather, my English grandmom's father, was killed in World War I a few months before she was born. We always knew this and that he was killed in France, but I never knew the details. I do our family genealogy and I always would check for more info every few years or so. A few years ago, the Commonwealth War Graves Commission posted their records online at the same time that my grandmom's home town joined the 20th century and put their information online too. With the two sites up and running, I quickly made some contacts and found that my great-grandfather and his brother were both killed in the Battle at Soissons in May 1918 within days of each other and that there was a memorial in town which listed their names and commemorated the soldiers' sacrifice (incidentally, another brother was killed in Gallipoli - next time in Istanbul, this is also a trip). I had a photo of the memorial, but I was still intrigued about the site. So I determined that one day, I would make it to France and devote a day to check out this place. So here I am.

My friends were not going to get in until late today, so this was the perfect time for me to take my personal adventure. I made myself keep my energy up to go to Soissons; I had been planning this trip for a long time and I knew I would kick myself if I didn't go. I am just so exhausted - not just from traveling, but from excessive work hours, which is why I haven't blogged in two months! Anyway, the train from CdG took me to the main station, Gare de Nord; I could have actually taken the train to my hotel, but again, I knew I had to do this trip now or I would not. While waiting for my train, I bought a sandwich with some kind of thinly sliced bacon or ham or something - soooooooooooooo good!

The ride to Soissons was relatively pleasant and uncrowded. I was amazed at the amount of people I asked about buying tickets who had not heard of this town. Was I not saying it right? Was it a dinky little place? No on both counts. Half our empty train got off at Soissons and I bought a return ticket right away. This gave me almost two hours of town time; I was a little disappointed there were no lockers to store my giant bag, so I took a taxi instead. The guy was so nice, but he would not wait for me as he an appointed pick up.



So, I went into the memorial, punching in the code at the gate. There is a ledge where I was able to set my bag down and wander freely. It was a constant light rain, but since I just came from the desert, I am not bothered by it. I found my names and took photos (though I think my great-grandfather is listed under the wrong division - Cheshire? They were nowhere near there! But maybe it had nothing to do with his hometown… His record was actually burned during the bombings in London in WWII so I don't know his division). Anyway, I tried to take a lot of photos, but ultimately it is just one small area, so little to do. I did feel in awe of the place though. The memorial is also extremely tasteful and well maintained. I can't believe it has been almost 100 years!



As I left the site, a woman came over to me and asked if I was English. Um, yeah, sure. Oh, would I like to come to her cafe across the street and have a cup of tea, use the toilet, and relax out of the rain? UM YEAH SURE! Merci beaucoup! It was so very nice of them - they would not accept any money from me. I still don't know why they did it, but it was beyond sweet. I must remember Hasi and Bertit should anyone ever go there.



Hasi recommended that I check out the cathedral up the hill. I asked its name: "The Cathedral". Ok. It was huge! Beautiful architecture and flying buttresses all over the place. It seemed closed though, so I just admired it from outside. They were also gearing up for what looked like a Christmas Market, and I was intrigued, but it also seemed like you might have to pay. I hope not all Parisian Christmas markets are like that. I got another friendly taxi driver and said goodbye to a beautiful, incredibly friendly city!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Soissons MemorialSoissons Memorial
Soissons Memorial

Commemorating the British soldiers who scarified their lives to defend this French city in 1918


18th December 2014

What a wonderful remembrance...
I'm sure that the cafe owners provided you tea out of gratitude for the sacrifice your ancestors made for France. I've found the French, especially those in the countryside to be very kind.
25th December 2014

Friendly French
Yes, and it is always funny, particularly as an English girl, to hear all the tales of the French. I did not encounter any of it. I am already planning my next trip to France - hopefully in 2015!
19th December 2014
The wonderful cafe

France
Always enjoy reading about your last minute trips.
25th December 2014
The wonderful cafe

Last minute!
Why thank you! I am trying to decide if I need to jet somewhere somewhat close for New Years (Bahrain? Muscat?), but I may just be too exhausted and broke! :)
20th December 2014

Very cool!
That is so awesome you were able to go there and find your family's names! Then to turn around and be given warm French hospitality...great start to your trip!!

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 14; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0685s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb