Planes, Trains & Automobiles – Saturday July 7, 2018


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Pays-de-la-Loire » Nantes
July 7th 2018
Published: July 14th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Well, our first night started off with a challenge. I couldn’t figure out how to lock the doors. You would think as landlord I could solve this. Nope, an hour later and with Kirsten’s help we did it. Actually, Kirsten solved the mystery. I now know how to lock French doors.

Another restful night, I wake up before anyone else and slip out into the kitchen. I fix myself a cup of coffee, open the patio doors to a bright and comfortable 70-degree morning. WOW! This is vacationing, the birds are singing, my coffee is delicious. As I sit down and look out toward the field, I see Leonarda is staring at me, the donkey. I wonder what she’s thinking. Well, it doesn’t matter because I’m not feeding her, Kirsten will when she gets up. I sit here sipping my coffee while Leonarda and I stare at each other. Yes, I won, she walked away.

Bea is joining us today, she took the overnight flight from Orlando to Amsterdam and plans on catching a flight from Amsterdam to Nantes. Easy, no biggie right. Wrong! Well, there are no seats available on the flight from Amsterdam to Nantes. She’s on the phone with Kirsten. Kirsten is in crisis mode, I’m on the computer taking instructions from Kirsten trying to find out how we can get Bea from Amsterdam to Nantes. Just like the old days at Darden, Kirsten pulls together this elaborate schedule. Bea has to catch a flight to Paris, from there she then has to catch the train to Tours and Kirsten and I drive 2 hours to pick her up and return to the house.

Did you get all that???

There is a movie called Trains, Planes and Automobiles. Watch it, we lived it today.

Omi decided to stay at the house and has prepared a perfect meal for us. When we pull into the driveway Omi is standing in the front yard of the house .... all smiles.

Omi tells Bea all about the previous days travels while we eat our delicious meal and toast our vacation.

We talk for hours and Bea finally asks when are we going to bed? It’s 11:30 and I’m exhausted. We all laugh and head to our bedrooms.

Good night Bea.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.307s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 15; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1015s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb