Down to the Loire Valley, still raining but at least it's warmer.


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Pays-de-la-Loire » Angers
June 14th 2016
Published: June 14th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Driven through some heavy showers today and the fields along the way are sodden and bear witness to the amount of rain that has fallen in the past few days. Occasionally there were breaks in the cloud and we spotted some blue patches but not much sun around. My weather map tells me the best place in France for guaranteed sunshine at the moment is Corsica. Trying not to dwell on that.

As I sit here in the Tandy the rain is going pitter patter on the roof. The worse part of 'camping' when it rains is not being able to get towels dry. My swimming towel was unpleasantly damp again when I used it after my swim in the pool. I really could do with a heated airing cupboard. Hopefully it will soon dry off / warm up and stop being a problem.

Lovely scenic drive today through some very pretty villages with me well entertained spotting more lovely timbered buildings and trying, and generally failing, to grab photos as we went past.

The corn fields are full of bright red poppies though I suspect they've been rather battered by the recent rain.

We drove pretty well due south and bypassed Le Mans then down to the Loire Valley just to the East of Angers at Brain-sur-Authion. Campsite is just across the river at Camping du Port Caroline. A new ACSI site and excellent with a covered pool (which I had to myself), enormous flat pitches and good for a stroll up to the village or along the river.

The sun popped out for a while which is when we chose to go for a stroll and with temperature up to 20 degrees it was almost pleasant enough to eat dinner otside but not quite so we ate inside instead.

Hopefully in a day or two it will all dry off and we can enjoy some time outside Tandy as we have been rather confined to the inside so far.

Tomorrow we are heading for the coast. Forecast actually shows more rain for next 3 days than last 3 but I'm just optimistically believing they have got it wrong !


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb