Capital of the world


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Paris
February 19th 2010
Published: February 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Paris: capital of the world



Thursday afternoon I took a 2 hour train from Strasbourg to Paris and met up with my mom and sister at the hotel we stayed at. It was great to see them!! I can’t believe 5 months have passed since I’ve arrived in France. I liked Paris, however, it wasn’t as glamorous or magical as they make it out to be in the movies (is anything ever as good as the Hollywood version?). The weather wasn’t the greatest (it was cold and overcast) which makes sight seeing a little bit less enjoyable. I think we saw almost all the top tourist sights. The first day we saw the Moulin Rouge, stopped by the Gallerie Lafayette (a huge department store), and shopped along Rue de Rivoli. That night we went to the Louvre. A friend had recommended going Friday night because the museum is open late and hardly anyone goes at that time. We were really glad we followed this advice because we didn’t have to wait in line at all to get it! The Louvre was alright, but it’s so huge that it was a bit overwhelming, and after a few hours we were all too tired to fully appreciate it. Later in the week we went to the Musée d’Orsay (favourite sight #1), which we preferred over the Louvre. This art museum had more contemporary works by artists such as Renoir and Van Gogh. The second day we headed out to Versailles. I really liked the museum there, and it was interesting to see the extravagance of the French royalty. Sunday we went to the Conciergie (favourite sight #2), the prison where Marie Antoinette was kept before she was beheaded. We also went to the Pantheon (favourite sight #3). At the Pantheon, we saw the tombs of important French people such as Dumas and Voltaire. Monday, we did a bus tour of the city and saw the Arc de Triomphe, the Eiffel tower, the Concorde, and the Champs Elysées. Tuesday we visited the Catacombs, the underground ossuary (favourite sight #4). Tuesday afternoon we did a bit of shopping and we found a prom dress for my sister, which was really exciting. Since I wont be around for her graduation, it was nice that I got to help her find a dress. Tuesday evening we went to Sacré Coeur et then had dinner (crêpes) in a nice French restaurant.

Fasching Weekend



I love love love Germany. I got home from Paris Wednesday evening, and then I left for Munich the next morning. I took the train with Charlotte and we met Taryn, Katherine, and Aislinn at the hostel. The weather was terrible, it was freezing and snowing, but we still had a great weekend. The first night we just relaxed and had dinner (at an Italian restaurant). Friday we did a walking tour of the city and then met up with a friend of a friend who lives in Munich and he took us to a great place for coffee. Then we went out for all you can eat Chinese, which you cannot get in Strasbourg! I miss Chinese food! (I don’t think I ate a single German dish while I was there…oh well, there’s still Berlin!) That night we went out to a Fasching party, a festival before Lent, and it was so fun because everyone was dressed up in crazy costumes. It was great. Saturday we went to the Residenz Museum, the palace where the royal family lived. Saturday evening we hung out in the hostel bar and watched the Olympics! (Go Canada Go!)





Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb