Friday in France


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Nord-Pas de Calais » Lille
February 3rd 2006
Published: February 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today I got up early and packed up my bag and took a shower, got dressed and went to class. The entire class I was watching the clock intently. FINALLY class was over and I went back to my room grabbed my bag and filled out my travel release and got on the tube. I changed at Waterloo international station for the Eurail and went through security. It was just like going through security for the airport, but that make sense, because it is just like an international airport. Then, I got on the train. And I had a window seat, and I watched out the window the entire way. It was like a dream. I smiled the entire way! And then we went through the Chunnel and it was really fast and when got on the other side, we were in France and then the train operations crew began speaking in French. It was pretty cool! I also could tell we were in France because the cars on the road were driving on the right side of the road...it was like another Aha! moment. We got to the station and then I walked out. I really had to go to the bathroom and change my money. But to go to a restroom at Lille Europe Eurail Station it 50 euro cents!!! I still had GBP and pence on me, but I swear to you an angel appeared from no where. A young lady about my age, said here miss and gave me the money so I could go to the bathroom and then she pointed out where the exchange bureau was, she was an angel! Well, then since I was meeting Liz at Lille Flanders I had to find my way to that station. So I just got out of the station and tried to figure out where in the world I was. So, I started walking in a direction that felt correct and I came to a McDonalds!!! Ah! I'm lost in France and what do I find, A McDONALD'S!! I laughed inside, that I did. But from the McDonalds I could see a sign that point towards the directions in which Lille Flanders was and sure enough I followed it and I came to the station in due time. It was kind of exhilarating to be able to find my way around a place I didn't know without
The meeting FountainThe meeting FountainThe meeting Fountain

This is where I was to meet up with Liz and Co. and I did!!!
knowing the language...that gives me hope for the Olympics! So, I met up at Lille Flanders with Liz, Nicole, Danielle and Dani. Oh was it sure nice to see a familiar face. Well, then we walked back to where Liz was living and on the way we bought a baget! MMMMmmmm!!! French Bread---seriously the best thing ever! I love to eat it! Well, after settling in and what not, we walked to Nicole's building, Foyer(?). We then began to make dinner! We had tortellini and sauce and bread. Oh it was delicious! We then went back up stairs and played some card games and drank some beverages. We then got ready and went out. Now, going out in France is a lot later than the USA and much, much, MUCH later than the UK!!! We left around midnight or 1230a. First stop Pirates of the Caribbean! Yup that is the name of the bar!!! Hahaha (Deltas--don't tell Ross! But I do have some pictures of it!) Good times! We again, re-hydrated ourselves and moved onto Latinas. This is where we spent the rest of the night. Also, I should mention that I met a nice girl named Jess from the
Liz and Co.Liz and Co.Liz and Co.

at foyer
UK and she came out with us. It was nice having someone to relate to about all the British stuff and I’m sure she enjoyed my thoughts on London (I Love it!) as well! We spent the rest of the night at Latina's like I already said, and basically we just danced there! It was a lot of fun, but before coming to Europe I thought Frankie was the only boy I knew who could dance. But seeing the Europeans try has just elevated every guy I know from back home into Frankie's position. But just to cover myself, Frankie is still the best dancing partner I have ever had, dudes!!! (Laura, Staef, AlPal, JP---can't wait to see the Swing Crew this summer!) Ok, so now this is kind of where the days blend, but at about 2 or 3 or was it 230a, I don't know, Liz, Jess and I left Latina’s to go back to Saint Michel (where jess and Liz live). We then went to sleep!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

PiratesPirates
Pirates

This is for all you people back home that have a weird obsession with pirates
of the Caribbeanof the Caribbean
of the Caribbean

AGAIN...This is for all you people back home that have a weird obsession with pirates
SNC Yea!SNC Yea!
SNC Yea!

at pirates
oh yeaoh yea
oh yea

Myself and my most wonderful hostess, Liz
A frenchmenA frenchmen
A frenchmen

Frank, one of the bartenders...i am pumped for this pic, cuz i asked him to be in a picture with in me...in French!!! very useful!


10th February 2006

Pirates!!
Your Uncle would be very proud, suppose that's who you were thinking about when you went there(Pirates of the Caribbean). Did you get some decorations for the boat. Sounds like you are having a lot of fun. Keep up the good work! Love, Aunt Peggy
11th February 2006

Lost in France
oui oui my little voyager, I too have been lost in très grand ville in le français. It was many many years ago when I was...how to say...jeunes et aventureux. I found my self in le Louvre separated from my travel compagnon and certain I was to meet them at le Sacre Coeur I traveled tout seul around le métropolitain city eventual realizing I was lost and alone. Given my command of la langue française you would think finding my way back to mon hôtel no problem. Bien, assez de cette charade. I have no idea how to read French! But eventually, I did find my way...to my hotel where another guest and his young family had a key that worked for my room too. How convenient. My friends soon returned and with great rejoicing they celebrated my journey. Ok, they were a little mad because the were worried about me...but they got over it with a little French wine.

Tot: 0.349s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0663s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb