So far so...interesting.


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Midi-Pyrénées
July 24th 2007
Published: July 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey all

So right now I am in Tarbes. It's the 1st place that I've been to that has public internet access. Here's a quick synopsis of what's been going on so far...

After I last wrote to you in Toulouse I tried to meet up with a school buddy of mine but had no idea how to get to the airport he was staying near. After 30 mins of wasted time searching for back roads there I gave up and decided just to ride to my next destination which was Castre. It was only some 70km away so I figured it wouldn't be too hard to get there. Boy was I wrong. Riding is one thing but riding with an extra 60lbs of dead weight dragging behind you is completely different. After that little ordeal I decided to alter my plan of averaging 100+ kms a day. I stayed in Catres that night and was able to see the final to one of the stages of the tour. I placed myself about 100m out from the finish line a good 4 hours before the riders arrived. I'll never do that again (except maybe in Paris) because you have to fight for your spot. When all the sponsors arrive in the caravan there toss out so nuch free stuff the people go insane! I had old women crawling over me just to try and get a key chain! Anyways, it wasn't worth the time to sit there only to see about 4 secs of the riders whiz by at 60km/h.

That same afternoon I decided to ride to Albi (40km) in prep for Saturday's time trial. When I got there I realized that pretty much all the hotels were full so I decided to head to the nearest campsite. There I met a father and daughter from Australia who were nice enough to let me stay on their site. They were follwing the tour stage by stage in a car...not a bad way to do it if you ask me! Sat. morning we awoke to bright sunny skies. I packed up and rode into the town centre. locked up the bike outside a cafe and went for some breakfast. There I met an american journalist (who was an ex-pro triathlete). We chatted for a bit while she edited some of her video from the previous day. SHe was nice enough to lend me her press pass which got me pretty luch anywhere I wanted to go. Naturally I went right to the start line and then walked around the team busses, watching some of the riders warm up. This is definitely the way to go...just say you were from an internet site doind some press work on the tour, get a press pass and a rental car et voilà!!! An all access pass to the tour! Anyways, the sun didn't last for long and down came the rains. I spent the rest of the day in the cafe talking to my new friend and watching the time trial on the big screen. After it was all over I headed to the train station to see if I could get a train to take me to my next destination. Luckily there was one that would take me to Lannemezan that night. It saved me from an estimated 10+ hours of riding and the possibility of missing the next stage I wanted to see.

I arrived late into Lannemezan and naturally everything is closed. (everything here closes real early...and never plan on trying to buy anything on a sunday!!!) I had to walk the 2km from the train station into the centre of town where luckily the owners of a hotel were sitting around their bar. I pleaded to them to let me stay the night. Because I was ahead of my planned schedule I could take the next day and just ride around (sans trailer). I watched the tour stage on tv then went out to scope a good spot for watching the next day's stage. I guess I should mention that I was staying in the foot hills of the mountains. I rode out of town and towards the base of the HC climb. I figured that would be a good spot to watch from seeing as how I was already 40km from my hotel and it would be mainly uphill on the way back. It was nice to detach the trailer and ride freely. The next day I got up early, expecting the roads to close at a decent hour. I made my way bck to the little village at the base of the big climb, bought some meat, cheese, and a baguette then started up the climb to find a spot. I couldn't believe the number of people climbing the mountain. Not to be outdone, I decided to see how far up I could make it. I'll tell you now, I have never in my whole life climbed anything even remotely as hard as this. It was 19km to the top and it took me just under 2 hours to do it! On the way up I passed a group of riders from Toronto who were riding a 6-day tour with Steve Bauer (whom I got to meet, very cool). I rode to the top with one of them and once there we "cheers"ed with a coke, which sugar content was very much in need! They kept riding on while I stayed to watch the stage...you could see the last 3km of switch backs from the top. The weather was gorgeous at the time but it didn't take long for the clouds to come in and the temperature to drop a good 10 degrees. I met a family of Brits (naturally from the Lake District of course) who rode up from the other side of the mountain. I had lunch with them and we watched the arrival of the riders through the very dense and cold fog/clouds. After the riders passed we said our goodbyes and down the mountain I went. Never has so much hard work been so rewarding. I was flying past the cars (being carefull the whole time, mom). It was amazing to feel the temperature get warmer the further I went down and it didn't take long to get beneath the clouds and out of the cold mist. I was feeling really strong and made it back to my hotel in Lannemezan before I thought I would. I reluctantly attached the trailer and headed north towards my next stop which I thought would be Tournay (a small village 10km from Tarbes). I was still feeling pretty good so I rode all the way into Tarbes, completing the 145km ride that day and 227 over two days. Needless to say I was kinda proud of that.
Today I ride south again in hopes of catching the next stage (wed) at the top of the Col d'Aubisque. After that I may stay in Lourdes for a night then off to Bordeaux, then Angoulème for 2 nights then hopefully into Paris for the finale on Sunday! More updates to come whenever I can find a plce that has internet.

Mike

Advertisement



24th July 2007

Hey
Hey Mike! Sounds like you're having quite the adventure! have tried to add comments but keep getting an error. Anyway, do you think you'll make this an annual occurance? Press pass eh? NICE! Talk soon, Boo
24th July 2007

Good for you!
Wondered where and how you had been for a few days. Sounds like you are well, having a great time and may even have a Euro or 2 left. Continued good fortune and keep in touch.
24th July 2007

Good to Hear!
Sounds awsome man, Hope your taking tonns of pictures while your there!.. I want to see one of you with Steve Bauer! Well like you my internet is few and far between..lol... hence Iam writing this to you on a laptop in Future Shop..hahaha... well be safe man, sounds like the ridding is amazing, Bartt and I were watching the stage where you were up in the clouds, unfortunately we couldn't catch a glimse of ya... Later you Baggot Mike
24th July 2007

Atta Boy!
Sounds like quite an adventure you're having. Good for you. Keep the info coming!

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb