Gourdon, Domme & Classes


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Midi-Pyrénées » Gourdon
September 7th 2011
Published: September 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone

Well I am into my lessons - is it only the second day? I am mentally exhausted by the end of the day and have been falling asleep by 9pm. But it is good fun - We have 3 hours of classroom time in the morning which may involve an exercise. For example I had to go and buy something from une mercerie stall (haberdashery) - I had to ask directions, and I found the most helpful are the little old ladies who babble away in French, with me nodding and saying oui oui and not understanding 95% of it. We have two teachers, Giles who is English who resides in Gourdon with his wife and two girls (the eldest also called Connie) and Marie who is a lovely, trés chic lady who is whippet thin and eats like a horse, both are excellent teachers. Then after a relaxing 2 hour lunch we go on excursions. Today we went to Domme, a lovely village with magnificent views (see photos below). We usually have a guided tour (in French) with some questions to answer about the town/place. Yesterday we went to the caves just outside of Gourdon (photos also attached) which were great. Unfortunately I couldnt take photos of the prehistoric cave paintings - these are the oldest original in France that you can still view.

I am just in awe of the stunning countryside - there is alway something interesting just around the corner, like a medieval tower in the middle of a field, or a magnificent chateaux in the distance.

I have 2 classmates, both men near 60 who live in France. One of them has offered to take me on a site seeing tour tomorrow afternoon (free time) and to do the same when Sean and I come back around this way.

So as you can see I am having a fantastic time - not missing l'Australie, only my husband.

Au revoir until next time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



9th September 2011

great photos
Hey there, glad to hear all is well. Your photos look fantastic-some gorgeous places. Good to hear your classes going so well. R u learning lots? All good here, not as exciting as France! Made the right decision bout trip-will fill u in later. Just waiting to win lotto and I can bring the whole family over to visit! Keep on enjoying yourself and take care. Luv pxx

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.059s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb