a three pastry kind of a day


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Midi-Pyrénées » Ariege
July 31st 2015
Published: July 31st 2015
Edit Blog Post

Dear Europe, I wish to make a complaint. You have no concept of a decent pillow or comfy bed and unless this changes, I'm not coming again. After Le Mans, I was hoping for a more plush more comfy room. Waking this morning I can safely say comfort was not one of the key factors of this hotel. The fact that the bed moved on wheels over the tiled floor was bad enough but couple that with the one long pillow ( who needs a pillow each??!!) the same depth as the average pancake which fell down the gap between headboard and bed created by the wandering bed and you've got a pretty rubbish combination. Stupid Europe and its stupid pillows......anyway after almost slipping over on exiting the hotel on the roof (James bond should not worry I'm after his job) thanks to a heady combination of rain, flip flop and roofing material we made it to the van and headed off back to France, tired, slightly hungover from pints of gin and a little bit damp. The journey was wet. Very very wet. And stormy. Added to which gert the Google maps girl had apparently joined forces with Simon and randomly changed our route and added 100km to it. Fortunately I spotted the error, told her off and got us back on route. We were heading to a town in the Pyrenees near ax les thermes to see my dad at his house there. Five hours after we left Spain we arrived having seen yet more vineyards and fields of sunflowers both happy and sad. We'd just got in when the first roll of thunder came and I think possibly the apocalypse. The storm is still raging even now, five hours later and I'm ever so slightly worried the van may have washed away. Oh well, I have pastries, diet coke and finally a proper cup of tea so at least I can see Armageddon out in style. See you on the other side


Advertisement



Tot: 0.265s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0637s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb