travel day 23: Bayeux


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Lower Normandy
June 16th 2006
Published: June 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

left paris today. i don't know if i said this earlier, but Paris started to grow on me the more i got used to it. i probably would never go back to Paris though because i pretty much saw everything i wanted to see. its pretty much just people watching and walking around here that's fun to me. the food is too of course. we got picked up by our driver for the next 3 days for Normandy. he is our driver tour guide there. he must think we are rich or something because it is a private tour. i think a tour for 3 people cost the same though if we were going to do 3 days individually with different people so it worked out. hes a nice man a bit younger than my parents. fluent in french, English, Italian, and German. wow. anyways, he got us and we drove about 3 hours to go towards Normandy. we stopped at this mall in Caen that i wanted to spend hours in because it reminded me of the malls back in the valley. we just stopped for lunch though and for me to get a camera battery. i ordered with my food Heineken when everyone was doing something else. the guide went to my mom and wanted to know her reaction to me drinking beer. she explained that I'm almost 22. he was shocked and thought i looked 15. i never thought i looked that young! 18 yes, but 15? anyway, got once again, good grub there. we continued our drive to the d day memorial. go see this if you have the time to get outside Paris. the movie in there had no speaking but explained in pictures the battles. we walked around a really long time in there. good exhibits including one on the cold war. afterwards, we went to our hotel which is nice. its owned by motel 6 which i like because its casual and not stuffy. ate the best pizza too I've ever had in Europe so far. repacked again too. its gonna be tight but i will be able now to just take my backpack and day pack though the day pack has no extra room.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb