Anniversary of 1300 years old Mont Saint Michel - Part One


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Lower Normandy » Mont Saint-Michel
August 17th 2008
Published: August 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It was not possible for me to dream visiting Mont Saint Michel so soon. First time, I heard about this religiously significant monument in France on TF1 channel. It was about the week of celebration which marks anniversary of 1300 years old monastery. Even though I was so curious to know a lot about Mont Saint Michel, I restrained myself from finding out about the place.

I talked less about visiting this place at that time, because it was impossible to arrange a trip within a short time during this year, which may take a better organisational work & skills. So I left the idea of visiting Mont Saint Michel at the back of my mind, a quiet far distance.

It was a very hot week in Paris and Nanu decided to go to Bretagne as soon as possible. I was really pleased to know that I would be going with her to visit a new place which is called Bretagne in France.

There were a lot of people at SCNF ticket office. It was also the day, we decided to buy a train ticket to explore the region of Bretagne. I would have waited until the ticket office is close unless, my friend was there to help me.

Finally I managed obtaining an one-way ticket without saying a word in French, Superbe! Both my friend & I are leaving Paris to Bretagne but not on the train but on a car. Monsieur X was happy to drive all the way along.

We left Paris around 11am on Tuesday. It was a hot day in Paris & it took quiet awhile to leave the centre of Paris. There were a lot of vehicles on the road specially this time of the year. A lot of holiday makers are heading away with their families. We were slow to begin but we managed to catch our speed up as we reached the first tunnel, which is leading out of the centre of Paris.

Around lunch time, we stopped for fuelling and to have a short break. As we passed toll gates one by one, we got near Normandy.

When we reached the region of Normandy, the subject of this place came again and this time, it was Monsieur X himself was keen on taking me to see Mont Saint Michel. I was so happy. I felt as if just a little dream of previous night has come true so quickly. Merci Beaucoup Monsieur X!

What I learnt after spending at this wonderful place, is magnificent. A perfect day to remember!

I found the below texts on-line but I did not read about the history of finger and skull while I was patiently listening to Monsieur X, neither I read such funny history in the little pamphlet nor....I was busy with my little camera. Anyway, today this place attracts millions of people around the world, to admire the grant structure of Mont Saint Michel. I am one of them, who stand in front of this massive establishment with wide opened mouth.

"Before the construction of the first monastic establishment in the 8th century, the island was called Mont Tombe. According to legend, the archangel Michael, the chief of the celestial militia appeared to St. Aubert, bishop of Avranches, in 708 and instructed him to build a church on the rocky islet. Aubert repeatedly ignored the angel's instruction, until Michael burned a hole in the bishop's skull with his finger". Believe it or not, this was a real story behind this wonderful place.


This place is regarded as one of the real Wonders of the Western World forms a tower in the heart of an immense bay invaded by the highest tides in Europe. We reached Mont Saint Michel at 2pm. There were hundreds of people coming & going each direction. the car park near the shore is almost full.

When we entered the first defence wall, there was a huge queue heading towards the ticket office. We irrespectively passed the queue and joined the middle of the queue which was close the one of the ticket offices. To be honest, I personally thought that this type of queue jumping only happened in India (South Asia), but I was wrong.




Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb