Mont St Michelle – Sunday & Monday July 22 & 23, 2018


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Lower Normandy » Mont Saint-Michel
July 22nd 2018
Published: July 26th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Sunday morning and we’re up early. We were given our marching orders last night, Jelly toast for breakfast and on the road to Mont St Michelle.

Our first stop is in Rennes. Hmmm, can’t say much about this city so I won’t. Very industrial, how’s that?.

The next stop is Concale, I suggested St Malo, Kirsten and I were there years ago on our first Transatlantic cruise. However, Kirsten wanted a different village and found out it was market day today. Well, it turned out it was like Daytona Beach during bike week. Yep, butt to butt. Motorcycles everywhere I was felt up and down and didn’t even get kissed. More leather and skin than I ever want to see.

After not being able to even get a table for a beer, we’re back in the car driving along the French coastline. We could see Mont St Michelle across the bay in the far, far distance.

We arrive at Mont St Michelle. Well almost. As we’re approaching our hotel, we come up to a road block. We tell the security our hotel is in the secure area. He points to the keypad and says enter the code. What code? After 3 phone calls we finally get the secret code from our hotel and we made it to our Hotel. I feel like we are checking into the Gold Vault at Fort Knox.

We checked into our hotel and were out the door to catch the next shuttle to the island. Cool, we made it, now I need a BEER!

I walk ahead to find a café table overlooking the alley/street where everyone is either coming or going. Omi said it will be like Disney, she was right. A sea of people. I’m sitting at the café and realize I left my phone charging in the car. Kirsten is an expert with Find Friends, you know the Apple App. Well... she found me sitting in the car at the hotel parking lot.

Sitting there sipping, ok gulping down my beer I realize this could be tricky for us to connect back up. While I was waiting for the bartender to bring me my second beer, ok, maybe third, no other than Omi walks through the door. She didn’t even see me until I spoke. Kirsten was right behind her giving me the look. Yea, you know why! LOL... I ask the bartender to bring Omi a water and Kirsten beer. She asks how long you been here, I just sat down and ordered a beer... honey. The bartender is looking at me and I look at him and he scoots away.

We do the abbey and walk the island. Rick Steves always says to see the island in the evening after everyone leaves. He’s correct, well almost, you have to realize 75% of the restaurants close when everyone leaves. After multiple tries we find a restaurant and have dinner. After dinner we stroll the abbey some, walking off our dinner. While Omi takes the shuttle back to the hotel Kirsten and I walk back to the hotel.

After resting we head back out to see the abbey lit up at night. Everyone is taking pictures including Kirsten and I as the sun sets on the abbey. Omi nicely suggest get a post card it’ll be better than your photo. LOL, she’s right.

Were in bed by 11:30 pm

Good night



Monday July 23, 2018

Good morning, Omi is up and out the door first, Kirsten next. Me... I roll over, finally we gather down stairs and have breakfast at the hotel. It’s pretty good, you know meats, bread, coffee and boiled eggs.

This morning, the abbey is fogged in, like the Green Swamp on I-4 between Orlando and Tampa fogged in. Kirsten is so happy we did the abbey yesterday. She tells me as were looking from the observation area, you know we would have to stay another night if I didn’t see the abbey yesterday. I shrug, Ok.

After many pictures of something peeking through the fog we’re back on the road, Kirsten now wants to see St Malo. WHAT! Don’t question just follow instructions. Never challenge management.

So up the French coast we go. Within an hour, we’re pulling into the parking garage. We spent the next 4 hours walking around St Malo eating, drinking and site seeing. We even worked in having a crepe for lunch. My crepe had ham, cheese, more cheese and a fried egg cooked in the middle. It was great....but man was I full....

We’re on the road by 5 pm and home by 7 pm

We played cards Kirsten wins. Finally, now when do I get to win.

Good night


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.292s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 17; qc: 47; dbt: 0.1056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb