Caen - William the Conquerer's castle


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Lower Normandy » Caen
November 8th 2012
Published: November 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

November 8 – Caen – I got up early again and did a little homework and then drank my tea and thought things over. Then I went downstairs and asked the manager if it would be OK for me to bring my baggage down and leave them while I went out and come back around noon to get them and go to the other hotel. She said that would be fine. So I left my luggage and turned in my key and walked over to the tram stop Bernieres and caught the tram.

I took the tram all the way out till it ended at the Herouville St Clair stop and got off. I watched which way the people were going and noticed that most of them headed off between two buildings. So I figured if there is a mall up here then it must be over there.

This turned out to be correct. I found a good size mall and after looking around in the supermarket inside it I found an American to French plug adaptor…..Finally. I also found a very nice cafeteria style restaurant to eat at.

So with that problem resolved I took the tram back to the Bernieres stop and got my luggage and moved back over to the La Fontaine again.

After relocating back in the other hotel I walked back over to the Bernieres tram stop again. I took the tram up the hill to the Universite stop where I got off and walked over to William the Conquerors castle. I have learned very well to start you explorations from the TOP of the hill and walk down. And that is what I did. Unless of course I am driving. Then I will park my car at the bottom of the hill and explore up. That way later on during the day when I am tired I will be going down the hill towards my car.

The Castle was quite impressive with not just one but two very deep and wide moats with a steep castle wall inside of them. Then there is a large enclosed area with various buildings.

This castle is no ruins but with the buildings inside it is easy to imagine life going on here.

The castle also encloses a couple of museums and I will go back again tomorrow to tour the Museum of Normandie. It was in quite a large building and I want to tour it taking my time.

After touring the castle I walked back down the hill to the Monoprix store on Bernieres St and got some groceries for my dinner and went back to the hotel to eat it. Then I caught up on my blogs.

Another good day done. : )


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



9th November 2012

Traveler
YOU BEEN BUSY , LIKE THE AMERICAN FLAG THAT CUTE, THE CASTLE IS HUGE, GARDENS ARE BEAUTIFUL

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb