my 2nd working holiday


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Limousin » Limoges
August 28th 2014
Published: August 28th 2014
Edit Blog Post

France

2013



My second venture into working holidays, abit braver this time, travelled to France to stay with a host family for 2 weeks 😊

The work mostly involved looking after their horses, ponies and dogs. In return I got a free place to stay, free food and when there was time a car ride to another town for some site seeing. I'd never dealt with horses or ponies before so I learned alot, it was pretty tough work but the weather was gorgeous so I didnt mind being out on the farm all day, plus once you got it done the day was yours to do whatever you pleased.

The local bakery was amazing, I've never eaten so many macaroons but they were just too good :D



This certainly isnt something for someone who just wants a lowcost/free holiday. The list of work for each day was long and the animals always needed some attention for one reason or another. But for a way to truely experience another way of life, this is perfect. The family were nice and made sure I was always ok with whatever I was doing, it was hard not to feel good with yourself by the end of each day, as they were always productive and you knew you were truely being of help to people who needed it.

Plus walking dogs along a quiet path, with beautiful scenery and endless blue skies, was as enjoyable for me as it was for them 😉


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb