The land of Cathars


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Languedoc-Roussillon
August 30th 2018
Published: August 30th 2018
Edit Blog Post

This one was a short trip on the land of the good men, as Cathars were called.



The Cathars believed that materialism was corrupted and only by the ascetic way of living, a good man could reach paradise. Anyone could have told by the places where they built their castles. Who could live there? Cold, wind, isolation... the Cathars were really strong people in their beliefs.

So the road trip started with Quéribus and Peypertuse castles. I stayed near a small village called St Paul de Fenouillet. Actually I tried Gamping for the first time there. It's an awesome concept. I was alone, near the vineyards and a river, where I could bathe the wild way. It was a marvellous spot for painting.

I also visited les Gorges de Galamus, natural pools surrounded by super dangerous and breath taking balcony roads.

After visiting the area and buying local wine, I headed to Montsegur castle and visited Puylaurens castle as well as it was on the way. For all the castles it was quite a long walk under the august sun so journeys were exhausting, but it was worth it!

My last visit was Carcassonne, where I visited the old city and learned some more stories about the last surviving good men.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



1st September 2018
View from Queribus castle

Awesome view
Awesome view you found there. I think I am going to list that area as a place I'd like to visit. Thanks for telling me about it. /Ake

Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0566s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb