Half Lives?


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Languedoc-Roussillon » Sommieres
April 20th 2011
Published: April 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

A half life is defined by Wikipedia as: the period of time it takes for a substance undergoing decay to decrease by half.

This has been much on our minds of late as we worry for Japan. In this case, we are relieved that radiocative atoms have a half life and their impact will gradually lessen.

A half life is also in all probability what I have now ripped through. Turning 50 in March may sound to you like I have well passed the half life milestone. But, as my Irish grandmother slipped away just before she would have got her letter from the Queen congratulating her on 99 1/2 years (oh for an extra six months!) and my Scottish grandma left us at 97 1/2, I feel reasonably confident that barring our own disasters, there is more living to come. A bit decayed, perhaps, but not done.

Stepping out of one's life is a luxury not given to many of us. Thanks to an immensely supportive network of people, I have the gift of three months to see what new persectives may emerge. Or, just to eat cheese and drink wine.

Before coming to France, I spent a few days in London. Sitting in the Model room of the Royal Thames Yacht Club in Knightsbridge, I was impressed by the walls and walls of half-models. You have seen them - the lovely things you hang on your wall that shows one half of a boat from a sideview. It struck me that we only see part of anything at a time. While we suspect the other half is identical to the side we see, there are doubtless small differences. Just as one side of our face is reputed to be different from the other, what does a second half look like? Different but the same?

For me, I suspect it will look a little sager and a little more reflective. It will be less about building and more about appreciating. The pieces are in place. Maybe this is the time in our lives when our thoughts become broader, less of the moment.

The next three months of blogs will doubtless be more about experiences. For now, early morning is a lovely time of peace. It is a time alone for longer than it takes to shower, dress and hop in the car to go to work. It is having a coffee while listening to the cock crow next door. It is hearing the birds start their day. It is looking at the lightening sky knowing that the crisp air will turn warm in a few hours. It is knowing that dear friends, who will come and go through this hiatus, are sleeping happily in their beds and, when it is just the right time, will emerge looking to share the next cup of coffee with me and plan our adventure for the day.



Advertisement



21st April 2011

The gift of the gab
Oh Nancy, you have such a gift for writing! Your words come out so beautifully, it makes me want to read more and more and more. Please continue sharing your whimsical thoughts, stories of your adventures, what you ate for lunch....it's all interesting to me! And have fun....lots and lots of FUN.
21st April 2011

Nancy! What a truly beautiful start to your blog, so thoughtful, I love it. Thank you for sharing. Can't wait for the next installment! :o) Love Dawn
21st April 2011

philosophical musings
Nance - I enjoyed your philosophical musings - you have such on open mind about this experience - it cannot be anything but a surprise! Cheers, Peg
21st April 2011

I'm older than you...
HI Nancy what a great idea - a sabbatical 1/2 way along... I do remember you telling me you were planning this. I look forward to your blogs CYnthia

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0613s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb