I do like a nice canal


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Languedoc-Roussillon » Narbonne
May 29th 2013
Published: June 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Back on the train to Narbonne this time. Again inspired by the lovely Rick Stein, I took the long walk from the train station towards the small town centre which is based around the very pretty canal de la Robine. Again typical of this trip that it wasn't at it's most glorious as both sides of the main canal basin were dug up having lots of work being done on them to make it into a boulevard type arrangement. Picked up a great map from the tourist office and walked around most of the main sites, taking in the beautiful market hall and the archbishop's palace and town square. A light lunch of a lemon crepe and coffee and it was onto the little land train to see the places further afield. Much to my amusement the commentary seemed to announce that on the left was "the clap".... or something like that. Now I don't know about you but I almost dreaded taking a look, fearing what on earth I was going to see. I'm still none the wiser about what I was seeing. The building to take my breath away was Saint Just-et-saint Pasteur cathedral. The sheer scale and height was stunning. Lovely visit to end this trip to France... with the Med just out of reach.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0573s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb