Day Tripper to Montpellier


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Languedoc-Roussillon » Montpellier
October 20th 2006
Published: October 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post


Was a 'day tripper' to Montpellier from Sete. I recall that I bought some grub at a deli in Sete and headed to the train station. There sat 'Bongo (can't remember what else I called him)' from the youth hostel sitting there with his bongo drum. He was not fullblooded anything... although he said he was born in France. Spoke decent English, actually. I shared my lunch with him, he was very grateful. I showed him I know a thing or two about bongo drums. Anyone who was in or around SF during the '60's, knows more than the average guy about bongo drums. He ate my food and stared at this 50 year old straight guy grooving on his bongos at the station.

The train came and we both boarded. Don't recall if I sat there with Bongo or not. But we disembarked, walked together for a while and then said Au revoir... I went straight up the main rue, he went off to who knows where. I think he wanted to ditch me. No problemo. I just know that from that moment I ascended upon the Place de Comedie... and had one of those unforgettable moments. Everything was in slow motion. I took in the splendor of the scene and drank in the Glory of France.

Sat among the trees in a park absorbing my surroundings. Ate olives, chicken and French pastry that I had left in my day pack. Somewhere in the distance I heard the sound of bongo drums....


http://www.languedoc-holiday-guide.com/montpellier.html

http://www.montpellier-herault.com/place-comedie.html


Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 18; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0642s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb