a sleepy weekend


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Languedoc-Roussillon » Montpellier
February 20th 2007
Published: February 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

over the past week i did even less than i did the week before. since last week i've had two tests in my language classes, i finished the second harry potter book, i gained three kilos (and eight more when i stepped onto a friend's scale at her home!), i lost two kilos, i ate almost all of the food in my apartment, and i happily wore my scarf that had arrived from home, smelling like home and feeling like home. i didn't bake anything in the past week, but i am on the hunt for key ingredients that i need. i now know what baking soda, brown sugar, and powdered sugar are called, but i haven't been able to sniff them out yet. it rained most of the weekend, and it was grey when it wasn't raining. i'm working on planning my time in berlin this coming weekend. i bought a pocket map yesterday, which is in english and shows the pertinent sectors of town. there is a girl in my classes at the university who is from germany, and she has taught me a few phrases that i need to know, such as "i am hungry," "how much does this cost?" and "which is the best beer?" i thought that the last was an important german phrase to know. i have two more days of classes this week, and then friday morning at seven, i leave. it hasn't felt like a month since i arrived, but it also feels like i've been here for a very long time. i discovered a feature on my computer called ical, and it's a calendar where i can add in all the events that i want in as many colors as i want. needless to say i have spent several happy hours planning out my time until christmas in various shades of beautiful! today i will do some grocery shopping for the first time in two weeks, but i won't buy much since i'll be out of town this weekend. i checked out a sketchy cheap grocery store on friday called lidl which i learned they also have in germany. it was okay, but i didn't buy many perishable foods, because i wasn't sure whether or not to trust them. they did have 99 cent bottles of cider from normandy, so i felt that was worth the risk, and it definitely was. other than that i've had a very quiet past week. my roommate was in madrid, so i was all alone, except for saturday night when i visited my friend andrea and got to view the gorgeous mansion she lives in! there are a few pictures of the house that i've included. get ready for next week when i anticipate beaucoup de beautiful photos of exciting, foreign germany, which i am looking forward to seeing for the first time...


Additional photos below
Photos: 51, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



20th February 2007

I love this...
What a wonderful world, and what a wonderful you for working so diligently on this blog. It is marvelous for us from back home that you share your life with us so entertainingly! That hyacinth was gorgeous. I look forward to every entry. And watch out for that paperwork, it may take over...
20th February 2007

wow, the trams over there are certainly better looking and more colorful than our light rail ones. have fun in berlin! oh, and be sure to tell me what the best beer is when you get back
26th February 2007

Great essay and neat photos
This home looked very wonderful. I also am a bit envious of the color coded calendar that you've discovered. If I had this access, I'd be trapped re-organizing my life for days!! I look forward to German stories. If you drink beer, have one for Steve.
27th February 2007

Engage!
I'm glad to hear you are traveling off to Berlin. Sounds exciting, but also sounds like you might be getting a bit blue. If you feel a touch home sick, try looking outward, keep your eye on the horizon. Fill your day with curriousity, and there won't be much time for regret, and the time to return home will come soone enuf. Good luck and fair winds, Sailor!
28th February 2007

bonjour!
Emma, your pictures are amazing. It looks like you're having fun. Your smile is huge! I love the picture of you and that tree book. Toi me manque! I sent this link to my parents, hah. They are happy for you. ENJOY FRANCE! bises, Julene

Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 16; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0931s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb