Medieval Castle Visit


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Languedoc-Roussillon » Collioure
May 13th 2017
Published: May 13th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Today I drove from Carcassonne to Collioure via back roads. I followed Rick Steves's advice about enjoying the rugged countryside and stopping at a ruined castle. It's true that there were some dramatic views (see photo). But I'm not sure the castle was worth the effort expended to see it. The castle I looked at is called Peyrepertuse and it was important six or seven hundred years ago. Abandoned, it fell into ruin and then was partially restored in the last century (see photo). Unfortunately the restoration did not include a user-friendly path to climb (see photo). I guess I have to say I was glad to see Peyrepertuse but I think its chief feature is that it makes one appreciate how well-done Carcassonne is. I drove on from there to Collioure, France and just had time to wander through town a bit before dinner. It is a lovely seaside town and I hope I get to explore more of it tomorrow (see photos).


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.267s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1207s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb