Getting there is half the fun right??


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France
October 20th 2018
Published: October 20th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Everything was ready to go and catch the Skytrain to the airport - only one last thing to add to the suitcase. Could not remember what it was and checked all my lists but everything was there. Oh well off to the airport. Sitting in the waiting area and yes - I forgot a jacket or coat or even sweater. Hmmm - how many Euros for a coat in Paris? In the waiting area I told Ross he needed to download the Westjet app so he could have entertainment on the plane. I had done it early in the morning. Then we both checked our headphones so we wouldn't blast our choices all over the plane. Mine worked and I was happy because I could never get it to work on my old computer. Ross could not get his to mute on the computer but play in the headphones. Finally I pointed out the headphones needed to be turned on. Still didn't work and now he is frustrated with Westjet and ready to complain to them about not having seatback screens. More mumbling then I checked to see if he plugged his headphones into the right hole - yes he did- tried again - more mumbling (he never curses) and then I gave the headphone plug a firmer push into the hole and voila it worked - big grin but not for long. After boarding and airborne we both tried to get the Westjet app working. We could both get to the start page and see a screen that let you follow the flight path but when we tried TV or Movies it said you needed to install a special plug-in for the things to play. Could not install - flight attendant had no clue but offered to let us rent an ipad that had all the selections on it. I can see a very annoyed letter in Westjet's future. I finished the book on my new ereader (in the last week my computer crashed and my ereader fizzled out). Went to begin another book but I had synced them all but not downloaded them. Oh well only 6 more hours of flight and I had Sudoku and crosswords from the newspaper but since they were from the early part of the week they were quickly finished. Walked the plane aisles for awhile, ate my packed dinner, dozed twice for ten minutes and somehow managed to get to London. We arrived early which was good since we had a tight timeline to get the train (tunnel) to Paris. Then since Gatwick was so busy we circled for awhile. Stomach getting tense. Landed finally and then ours were almost the last bags to arrive but for the first 15 minutes I was actually holding someone else's bag. Good thing my real bag came at the same time as Ross' or I would have headed to Paris with someone else's clothes and my guess is there would be no way I'd squeeze into them. The one hour trip into London was delayed so with no coffee and no sleep my stomach was really tensing up. Through security, poky, poky, poky and finally waiting for the Eurostar. Even ended up with time to grab a cappuccino. At last on our way to Paris on a fully packed very speedy train with me going backwards - eeek. Head down, tried to read and ended up falling asleep just before Paris. Now line up for metro tickets. Ross did not take my suggestion about which stop and figured we could walk part way so we didn't have to change lines. This with suitcases. Too tired to argue and of course walked the wrong way. Made it to the apartment, dropped the bags and off to the corner for dinner and then groceries. Bed early.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.326s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb