Arrival and day one...


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
November 2nd 2016
Published: November 2nd 2016
Edit Blog Post

I arrived without a glitch... all flights great on Iceland Air. Went through customs there which was a breeze. I did not check luggage so once out of airport directly to taxi rank and NO LINE! Driver takes me immediately and sets meter at €55 (should be 50 to my area and 55 to Paris Center)
As we get going I see the meter rising... 62 and I question him and he says it is an "off day". I keep questioning him and when it hits 75.10 he turns it off! It was All Saints Day so perhaps he was right.. He got me to my door and I gave him €75 even.

I packed very light knowing this building had four flights of very narrow stairs and I and my 26" and small backpack just fit! Karina was lovely upon meeting and thoroughly going over all details of the apt. It's great! I slept like a baby and the shower was awesome! After she left I went out to get a few groceries and wander a bit.... got back at around 4:00 and made a delicious sandwich ..took shower and got into bed. I fell asleep by 5:00!! Woke up at 7:30.

Today I got a late start... around noon and was going to try to locate the store I need for my pocket wifi chip but abandoned it til tomorrow. Instead I came to the "Perron Steps" off of rue Lamarck and decided to take the climb up which would take me to rue Caulaincort and the area I wanted most to explore.. I wandered for a good 3.7 miles according to my Fitbit and since my battery was now being charged by my Mophie I headed back to my apt about 4:00... stopped at Boulangerie near my apt for best baguette tradition and a croissant and pain au chocolate (€3.20) and made another chicken cheese avocado sandwich on my fresh baguette ... did laundry in my awesome washer w separate dryer that actually dries! (Those European combo units never dry and take hours to do a load)

It was another very nice weather day... started out gloomy in am but cleared up around noon...

The first two photos are of my view of Montmartre Cemetery right behind my apt... and Sacre Couer in distance...
The rest just random shots along the way today...




Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb