Day 1 Paris – 1st Arrondissement (Part 2 of 4): Arc de Triomphe du Carrousel, Musée du Louvre


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
December 2nd 2013
Published: March 25th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Paris Day 1


Arc de Triomphe du Carrousel

Leaving Jardin des Tuileries I came to the Arc de Triomphe du Carrousel in the middle of the path. It looks like the other Arc de Triomphe on the Champs Élysées, but smaller. I loved the stone carvings on the Arch.

The Arc de Triomphe du Carrousel was built between 1806 and 1808. The arch is 19m high, 23m wide, and 7.3m deep.

Musée du Louvre

I then moved through and found myself in the courtyard for the Musée du Louvre with it’s glass pyramid. I went down into the museum and got myself something to eat. As expected, it was expensive and not very nice, but I was hungry and thirsty!

I spent quite a while wandering around the courtyard and figured I’d come back to the museum one day down the track to go inside and see the exhibitions. I had been there as a child and had seen the Mona Lisa, and I was enjoying being outside, so I was in no hurry to stay inside, plus the sun came out!

The Louvre Palace began as a fortress by Philip II in the 12th century. The Louvre Palace was altered frequently throughout the years and since 10 August 1793 has been a museum (albeit with several closures throughout the years).


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb