Arrival in Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
December 15th 2014
Published: December 15th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Arrival into Paris a success after a delay in flight from Bordeaux, and then a taxi strike, not permitting buses to the Airport terminals also. So onto the train I hop. Hopping off on the underground station of Luxembourg, and onto Rue Gay Lussac where my hotel is.

Checked in, unpacked and went out for a walk. The Luxembourg gardens were very open, and relatively bare for the area they lay upon, but still very nice with statues and fountains everywhere. The Jardin Du Luxembourg was quite long as well.

Over yonder was the Palais Du Luxembourg Senat - this place had quite a few military and security around it. I walked around the building until I got to the other side where there was the Luxembourg Museum, where they were showing paintings by Manet, Monet, and Renoir.

From here, I walked down a small street, yes there are many, to find hiding the St Sulpice Church. It was a very big church with a fountain and statue in front of it on the square. Also was the Centre of Finances, all very nice buildings.

Some streets were wider than others, but the smaller were cobblestoned which really gave it authenticity. Walking up to the back of the Senat building, which has a dome at the top of it.

Back around the gardens boundry, where I find a Macdonalds. Oh my, I havent had junk food since leaving, and it just gave me the urge to have it for dinner. I sat facing the gardens, watching the darkness set in and the rain beginning to fall. It was quite relaxing after a busy day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb