The Louvre: How I love to visit it


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
May 28th 2012
Published: June 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

<span><span>The Louvre is crowded no matter when you visit it. Just go with the flow and enjoy the experience. Here is how I like to visit the Louvre:

<span>Ignore all the noise and confusion. Just get into line and get your tickets. I decided to go straight to the 2nd floor because most people start on main floor and work their way up. So, the chances are that the 2nd floor won't be very crowded.

<span><span>


<span>Even after visiting the Louvre many times, I still took the escalator, then the wrong elevator (down only) then climbed 124 steps to 2nd floor, then saw the elevator I could have taken! All this after asking 3 different staff members who all said vague things like "a gauche" and pointed. Oh well, I'm here...
<span>
So, on the 2nd floor I went to the PEINTURES FRANCAISES XVIIIe s.
Corot, Camille 1796-1875
Decamps 1803-1860
Millet 1814-1875
Fragonard, Alexandre-Evariste 1780-1850
Hersent, Louis 1777-1860 (and others)

<span><span>


<span>They were all marvellous. I drank them in for 1 1/2 hours (my limit), then when exhausted, I went back down to the main floor and had a break & snack and coffee then back to see more masterpieces for another 1 1/2 hr. Yes, I saw the Monna Lisa (spelled with 2 Ns here); Winged Victory of Samothrace; Wedding at Cana, Napoleon crowning himself, St Mary Magdalene, Turkish Bath.

<span><span>


<span>You can save some money and come to the Louvre on the first Sunday of each month free.

<span><span>


<span>My advice is: don't try to see everything. It's overwhelming. Today, I saw a small corner of one floor and felt sated.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0668s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb