Sketchy


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
April 28th 2006
Published: May 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

We tried to wake up, but it didn’t work. We had our alarm set for 9:30, but didn’t get up and out of bed until 1. We were tired! We had a lot of days in France, so sleep was a priority. We got ready and then were on a search for food. We couldn’t read our map yet, so ended up going the wrong way. Surprise, surprise, I know! We found this nice family restaurant and had a hot meal for 5.50! It was so good. Carla got to practice her French and show me what she was all about. As the trip went on, she remembered more and more French. We asked the guy how to get to Sacred Heart, and he just pointed. You could see it sticking out from where we were standing.

We walked until we couldn’t see it anymore and then were clueless. I swear we were wearing a sign or something because this Asian guy came up to us and randomly said, “Sacre Ceur,” and gave us directions. We made it up the hill and told ourselves we were going to have a picnic there tomorrow. It was gorgeous. We went inside, but some things were closed off because they were having service. We got out and walked around aimlessly. We didn’t know what else to see. I guess there are a lot of black people in France because there were a million black hair salons. It was a little out of control, but amusing.

We walked down the hill and I found slushies! It was the best day of my life. I had a strawberry-banana one and it was amazing. The best I’ve ever had really. We passed a couple of shoe stores, and the thing that surprised us was how many stores there were for like prom dresses and tuxedos and stuff. We were observing a cute little church when some gross man came up to us. He asked us for a cigarette, but I wanted to throw up. He had dry and wet spit all around his mouth and stuck in his stubble. And he wouldn’t leave us alone after we said no! So we went running.

We tried to walk to the water so we could get on the Bateaux Mouche, but we still hadn’t figured out the map. It’s a good thing we went the wrong way though because we ended up finding the Moulin Rouge. It wasn’t everything we expected it to be, but it’s a big deal. We had gone too far in the opposite direction and decided to take the metro. It was mad confusing. We got to the water and our mouths dropped. Paris really was beautiful.
We took a little water tour and saw a lot of the sites we wanted to go to. I would have learned some history, but my ear thing was broken, so I just had to enjoy the scenery. It was better than walking!

We got off and explored our new surroundings. We saw the only sky scraper in Paris on Montparnasse Boulevard. We walked until we got hungry and then looked for food. Someone was watching over us because we were on the food street. Unlike Spain, there was every type of food imaginable. You name it, and it was on that street. I really wanted seafood, so we went to a seafood restaurant. I thought I had ordered salmon, but
I had ordered some kind of steak. Thanks Carla! I couldn’t let my food go to waste, so I shoved it down. It wasn’t the best, but it was eatable. Then I thought I was getting a caramel dessert, but I got flan instead. Not one of my favorites. While we were eating, we realized how many people in Paris rollerblade. It’s the next big thing! I promise we saw more than 100 rollerbladers in the hour we were eating. I wanted to go buy a pair!

We were tired and it was late, so we went back home. We were walking down the stairs of the metro when this guy started to talk to me. We were going to pretend to only speak Spanish, but when he asked if we spoke English, we said yes. We had lost our sense of direction and asked him what metro to take. He showed us in the right direction. He asked if he could have my number and I told him my phone didn’t work. When he asked if he could give me his, I told him we were leaving the next day and there was no time to hang out. I would have felt bad if he had given it to me and I didn’t use it! But unlike the guys in Spain, after I told him no, he didn’t follow us on the metro. He went home! Some guys do get a clue!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.305s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.119s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb