Paris Tourist


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
May 26th 2009
Published: May 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Sunday- affter a long and slighty boozy lunch ( we were dehydrated) we decided to knock one of the tourist "to do" activities off.
We headed to the catacombs. A long line and an official informed us the our arrival at 3.30 meant we were too late as it closed at 4pm. I questioned this as my information said 5pm. I asked for a recommendation of other nearby activities but he had no idea.
Stepped into adjacent park area and watched as Andy Roddick and his entourage were given the same information. They too were furious as they had rung to check.

We were then bemused as others continued to join the queue we had been turned away from.
T leapt up to query this, and Andy Roddick and her had a good verbal with the staff, Andy left but we shamelessly rejoined the queue.
Turns out they meant that the ticket office closed at 4pm, the tombs don't close until 5pm. James was suitably impressed by the skeletons of millions of Parisians.

Monday
A get up and go day. Again soaring temps on the 35 degree range, we hit the Lourve, Notre Dame and the Eiffel tower.
James insisted on seeing the Mona Lisa, and we stood amongst the hundreds of others all taking photos. Tourism is really a version of the old African trophy hunters, and just as damaging.
While looking at so many great works of art, buildings etc, I decide it is really unnecessary, I could buy a book, watch a TV porgramme and be far more informed about what I am looking at, and cause far less damage. The history behind much of what I have looked at recently is really ugly and was created by and for greedy people on the backs of the poor, and tourism seems to me to be perpetuating this.
I have decided tourism is ugly and this trip will be the end of it for me. I will visit family occassionally, but no more tourism for me.
All I am doing is collecting photos and writing this blog as a memoir aide for James.
The real pleasure for me is being with family and I resolve in future to concentrate on experiences with my family.

Tuesday
James and T went off to Parc Asterix. Thankfully following a massive thunderstorm the temp has dropped and they should be able to have fun without suffering from the heat.
S and I walked around Montmartre and visited Basilica Sacre Cour and the Moulin Rouge.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



27th May 2009

Tourism and Wellbeing
An interesting observation. For myself, I love travelling, seeing new places, meeting new people. Some of the happiest times of my life have been when I'm exploring a new city. I love Paris. A fantastic place. Admittedly, I've never been there when it sizzles or drizzles. Cool and comfortable printemps both trips. I agree about the Mona Lisa - what on earth is the point of coming all that way for a look at a small painting behind glass from a distance of several metres? All those schoolkids in the crush holding up their cellphones to take a picture - what a waste! A book or even an internet guide will have a far better picture than what you can take yourself, and from where you stand, it's impossible to examine details. The building itself I liked. The paintings for the most part weren't my cup of tea. Some of the sculpture, notably the Venus de Milo and Winged Victory, was a thrill.
27th May 2009

You sound like a very tired tourist. Have a rest day find a pool and sit back and relax for a day.
27th May 2009

I've partly enjoyed, partly commiserated, and totally understood some of your frustrations in these last two entries. There are no two ways about it - the French are different!! There is nothing normal or usual, about them, and and definitely nothing Kiwi about them. Time for James to write an entry with his impressions. They may well be different from yours. Hope you enjoy the rest of your time in gay Paree. You are missing quite atrocious weather here. 4 degrees this evening as we drove home from a genealogical meeting! Missing you.

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb