Don't walk on the grass in Paris.


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
October 25th 2008
Published: November 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

couchettecouchettecouchette

My "bed" on the train ride.
Fall break in the city of lights. So the art school I am attending here in Florence has this wonderful thing called a fall break. Basically a week off from all things school related. After four mid-term exams and I project in my photography class I was more than ready to leave Italy. Originally I was going to be in Greece for a week of letting loose with Molly, Daisy, Emma, John and Zoe, but after our first reservations fell through I was able to change plans the week before break started and head to Paris. Katherine (who studies at UMiami) and I bought one way train tickets to Paris the thursday before we left. In retrospect I probably should have figured things out further in advance, but everything turned out alright in the end.

We left Florence on saturday night, taking the overnight sleeper train that fit six people into a compartment (which is not at all restful when you have someone snoring above you). So after reading several hundred pages in my "cell" we arrived in Paris a mire 13 hours after leaving Florence. I was so happy to be off that god forsaken train I didn't even
Couchette 2Couchette 2Couchette 2

Katherine's bed was much more cramped than mine was.
remember that people spoke french until I walked out on the street and realized that "oh my god I can understand these people". Thanks to my few years of high school french, I am proud to say that I can have almost an entire conversation in broken french, a little bit of italian and mostly english.

Walking around Paris can be a beautiful experience, just not when a person is carrying around 30 pounds worth of clothing. I have never ever been someone who had the ability to pack light, so only being able to have my backpack and a purse, really made me appreciate those who can live out of that for months. I could barely stand the clothes I had brought after a few days. Luckily I had brought an extra duffel bag, knowing that I was going to put a dent in my bank account.

The first day that Katherine and I were in Paris, we spent the majority of our time wandering the streets and going to the major sites the city has to offer. We tried unsuccessfully to find the famous flea markets in Montmartre but were only able to find Sacre Coeur.
ArrivingArrivingArriving

I was completely lost at this point and still so excited to be in Paris.
Actually seeing the Eiffel Tower for the first time was incredible. I never imaged that it would be as large as it actually was, and when you see the view from the top (or as close to the top as we got on the second level) the view of Paris is amazing. On our second day in Paris we tried to go to the top of the Eiffel tower but because it was already too crowded, we were unable to buy tickets at the second level. There were huge tour groups there pushing and shoving just to get to the elevator to the third level. Needless to say we did not go to the very tip top since it would have been an hour long wait on the second level just to buy our tickets. So we took touristy shots in the middle and called it a day. Maybe someday when I go back to Paris (which I know will happen) I'll go to the top. We had similar luck trying to get to the top of the Arc d'triomphe, so were only able to take pictures at ground level.

I find it difficult to write about everything I
Pyramid of Paris.Pyramid of Paris.Pyramid of Paris.

First view of the Louvre.
did in Paris because after spending almost a week there, things start to blend together like a watercolor. One thing that I did not do in Paris was go to any museums. Why, because I am absolutely done with looking at paintings and sculpture. After living in Florence for two months, I have pretty much over dosed on as much art work that my brain will allow me to absorb. So instead of going to the Louvre, Musée D'Orsey, or the Contemporary Art Museum, Katherine and I spent our time in the Luxembourg gardens on the left bank. I have spent about the same amount of time in that garden that I would have spent in the museums.

The Luxembourg garden is not huge when compared to Central Park, but is charming and can only be described as everything a French person would want in a garden. With manicured lawns (that you don't want to walk on), perfectly spaced trees, large fountain/pools of water, sculptures, and paly area for children, it is an ideal setting for picnics and reading novels. On any given day you can find a variety of people enjoying the surroundings and sunshine (if there is
Palace Palace Palace

A side view of the Louvre.
any). Katherine had bought a travel guide to Paris that included a tour around the St. Germaine area to pick up things needed for a picnic lunch in the park. Gathering bread, chocolate, wine and quiche, we made quite a nice spread on our make shift table (one of the chairs in the park). Enjoying the sunshine and the cooler temperatures, I was able to drink in the french way of life, literally, with a good bottle of french wine.


Additional photos below
Photos: 57, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Peeking throughPeeking through
Peeking through

Shot from the Louvre where you can just see the Eiffel Tower.
Governmental calling.Governmental calling.
Governmental calling.

The National Assembly building.
Side streets of color.Side streets of color.
Side streets of color.

An amazing street that turns into a park.
Self portraitSelf portrait
Self portrait

Katherine and I on the amazing street.
View from AbroadView from Abroad
View from Abroad

On the right bank of the Seine overlooking the Eiffel Tower.
Sacre CoureSacre Coure
Sacre Coure

The church in Montmartre which has an amazing view of the city.
Relaxing Relaxing
Relaxing

Taking a break on the steps of Sacre Coure.
Towering stepsTowering steps
Towering steps

Walking up to the top of Sacre Coure to get a better view of the city.
Twisted stairsTwisted stairs
Twisted stairs

Katherine following up the steps of Sacre Coure.
Central perspectiveCentral perspective
Central perspective

View from the top tower of Sacre Coure
Night shot.Night shot.
Night shot.

Outside the Louvre.
Going out on the town.Going out on the town.
Going out on the town.

Stopping by the Louvre on our way to dinner.


Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0884s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb