Day 18: Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
September 16th 2008
Published: September 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We went to the Louvre!!! First and foremost, I do not feel like a failure; I managed to see everything I wanted to see. We started out in the Sully Wing with the Medieval Louvre, which takes you downstairs to the where the original moat would have been, then up into the ancient Egypt area (I even saw a mummy!), and of course we didn't miss the Mona Lisa. I knew what to expect because I had been forewarned that she was in fact, quite small, however it was funny to watch those who weren't aware of this fact as they walked closer to it and asked their friend, "Is that the Mona Lisa?" What's funnier is one of the largest paintings in the Louvre sits on the wall just opposite of her. The Napolean III apartments were spectacular, it's exactly what you expect to see when you walk into a palace, and it transported you back to the time when that's what the Louvre really was.

After a while we did start to get hungry and a bit tired, so we left and went to a small cafe just down the street. Picked up some postcards next door; I've started a collection, I have some from every city we've been to.

At ten we left the apartment again to go to the Eiffel Tower, because every hour for 10 minutes the whole thing twinkles with thousands of little lights all over it; we got there with 15 minutes to spare. I took both pictures and a short video, check them out!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb