Settling in Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
August 26th 2008
Published: August 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today is my fifth day in Paris, and my third day in temporary housing with the MICEFA program. Yesterday was sunny and warm, but today when we woke the sky looked as though it had been watercoloured by an amateur. Great streaks of grey and blue bleeding into each other, diffusing the light in a way that made it hard to be sure of what time it was. Ellen and I eventually pulled ourselves out of bed and down to the metro so we could make it to our 10 am orientation. At the moment, all our orientations and preparatory language classes are being held in the Paris 4, Sorbonne Nouvelle campus off of the Malesherbes metro stop. The orientations are long and not that riveting, but it is necessary information. Plus it's cool to be in the Sorbonne (albeit not the classic building, which is located in the latin quarter) when the students aren't here and be able to ride down the stair railings after class. I'm still excited about my housing situation, which got all settled out yesterday. I will be working with kids, ages 9 and 11. I'm a Haskell, working with kids seems to be in our blood. Maybe it's because none of us really ever grew up in the first place. Hell, I'm sliding down the stair railings at the Sorbonne, who says you have to grow up?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb