Vive l'Europe!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
April 27th 2008
Published: April 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, thank the stars, I'm back in Europe.

Tangier came and went and I have little to report from there. My only suggestions in terms of that city: do not trust the Lonely Planet hotel reviews and in fact, save your time and just take the train to Asilah instead. You're not missing much and can still easily catch the morning ferry to Spain and/or travel down to Marrakesh, whichever way you're headed.

The ferry ride was great - I think boat travel ranks right up there with train travel, as long as the craft is large enough for a cafe and plenty of bathrooms. Arriving in Spain was another joy - I as so happy to be back in Europe after all these years! I met a very interesting fellow San Fransican named Aish on the way to the train to Madrid and we had a lovely chat all the way up the country. We ended up meeting for dinner at a great vegetarian restaurant and I was introduced to the beginnings of Madrid nightlife. The next day I visited the Museo del Prado and spent the afternoon having some fantastic hot chocolate. I have to say I think much more of Madrid now than I did before, and I'm sure my lack of Spanish is the final barrier to my full appreciation of that fine country.

But there is no barrier between me and a very full appreciation of France. After yet another - and final - train ride I arrived in Paris this morning. Oh, happy days! And what a way to end my 27th year and begin my 28th! I was a bit nervous about seeing Paris again after all these years, but everything here is just as wonderful as I'd remembered it, maybe even more so. I've spent my first day just wandering about and, of course, eating ice cream, crepes and cheese sandwiches. Tonight I'm going to get started on the wine. Tomorrow my plans are as yet vague but will most certainly include champagne and chocolates courtesy of Clement and La Maison du Chocolat.

Love to all and I'll write again before I leave!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



28th April 2008

Happy Birthday!
Yay!!! I'm sooo glad you're in Paris! I know you're just grinning like a loon and having the time of your life. That's where you belong. Everytime I see the Sex and the City episode "An American Girl in Paris" I think of you. *hugs* Happy Birthday, J!!

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0302s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb