Immigration law?


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
September 30th 2005
Published: September 30th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I know that I still haven't posted pictures of my dorm, but it is because every time I try the computers here for some reason just can't do it. So today I brought my laptop down to the computer room and plugged it in (wireless internet access is still a new thing in france, i can't get any from where i live). Hopefully more pictures will come with this post...

Well, things are finally starting to work out here in la France. I received my teaching schedule - All day Monday, Tuesday, and two hours Friday afternoon. It's really not so bad. Now I am beginning the arduous process of finding another job, and since I don't have my residence card yet, it seems that finding a job will be even trickier.

I spent all day Wednesday trying to get my residence card. By all day I mean 9-5, with a lunch break in the middle. I went to four different police stations throughout the city and in the suburbs. At each one, I took a number, waited about a half an hour, then went to the front only to be told that, once again, I was not at
The Flagship Sephora...The Flagship Sephora...The Flagship Sephora...

...is on the Champs-Elysees. They have huge bottles of perfume in glass behind one wall. These are actually filled with real perfume and for sale.
the right police station. In the end I was supposed to be at one that is right next to Notre Dame. But of course, when I got there, it was closed!

The good news is that now I know where I need to go, what I need to have, and I even have a phone number I can call to schedule an appointment and cut out all the waiting time. But this whole experience really left me dumbfounded...I can't believe that I had that much trouble when I have the decided advantages of speaking French and being sponsored by a woman in the French embassy. I cannot even imagine what this immigration experience must be like for those who do not speak French and have nobody to sponsor or assist them.

In other good news, I enrolled in my German course! The Goethe Institut campus is not terribly far from where I live - it borders the Jardin du Luxembourg. It really makes me feel good and resourceful to know that I will be keeping my feet wet with the learning process...and I can't wait to start learning another language. My roommate took German in her grade school,
The grand arch of la Defense.The grand arch of la Defense.The grand arch of la Defense.

I stood in the middle of a busy street just to get this great photo for you guys!
so she has been helping me already with some pronunciation issues.

Okay - so if all goes well, I will be posting pictures of various things this week. Have a great weekend everybody!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Eiffel TowerEiffel Tower
Eiffel Tower

A bunch of girls in my dorm and myself took a boat ride down the Seine one night this week...it was cold but so beautiful!
Surprise!Surprise!
Surprise!

I told the girl who took this that this picture was for my parents so I wouldn't feel like such a nerd.


30th September 2005

Keep Them Coming!
I love reading your blog and especially like seeing the beautiful pictures! You look great! Have fun - stay safe.
3rd October 2005

Keep it up!
That's fantastic that you're filling your head with confusing, passionate langauge like German while letting French seep in naturally. Keep posting all your quirky situations! They're more funny than stateside situations, which are usually taxation issues and therefore merely depressing.
6th October 2005

Hello
Enjoyed reading your comment. We remember the frustration of Spain in trying to get things done. If you think getting a work permit is hard try getting a birth certificate for an American baby born in Spain. Keep having fun. we will send your blog address to emily.

Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb